Identifying Data within Articles
As mentioned in the Finding Social Sciences Data page, along with searching for various datasets directly, you can also turn to the article literature to identify datasets.
Within scholarly articles of empirical studies, check the Methods, Methodologies, Abstract, Introduction, or References section to identify data used in the studies.
Below are databases that include scholarly articles across subject areas relevant to this course.
Politics, Policy (also include topics on human rights and environment)
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations with abstracts from more than 1,100 journals in political science and related disciplines. Coverage is international in scope, combining the former Political Science Abstracts and ABC POL SCI databases.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowIndex focusing on public affairs, public and social policies and international relations. Provides references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and more. Covers 1914 to present.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new windowThe International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) provides citations in social science and interdisciplinary research, with broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Subject areas include sociology, political science, economics, anthropology, ethnography, demography, education and more. 1951-Present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
- Global Health This link opens in a new windowOne simultaneous user, click on " End Session" then close your browser to log out. Global Health is a public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and much more. This database contains more than 1.2 million records dating back to 1973.
Human Rights, Indigenous Rights
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new windowBibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life, including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Provides citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada from the sixteenth century to the present.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive index of anthropological materials. Unites two premier indexes created in two hemispheres: Harvard University's Anthropological Literature and the Royal Anthropological Institute's Anthropological Index. Coverage: 1800s to today.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch indexes newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press, offering both national and regional coverage. Ethnic NewsWatch presents multi-ethnic and multi-cultural publications in one resource covering 1959-present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowA full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Environmental Studies
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications on agriculture and environmental studies and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS). Coverage: 1960 - current .
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowInformation covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Draws on the connections between the environment and various disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
- Pollution Abstracts This link opens in a new windowThis database provides fast access to the environmental information necessary to resolve day-to-day problems, ensure ongoing compliance, and handle emergency situations more effectively. Pollution Abstracts combines information on scientific research and government policies in a single resource. Topics include atmosphere, emissions, mathematical models, effects on people and animals, and environmental action in response to global pollution issues.
- Energy Citations Database This link opens in a new windowThe Energy Citations Database (ECD) contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related STI from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). The Database provides access to DOE publicly available citations from 1948 through the present, with continued growth through regular updates.
Google Scholar
Note the screen shots below to help you set up your Google Scholar to access NU Library full text content.
