Skip to Main Content

Donating Oral Histories to the McCormick Library

The following guide is intended to support students, faculty, and independent researchers who are interested in conducting oral history interviews about Northwestern University’s history and depositing them with the University Archives.

Introduction to the Oral History Resources Guide

The following guide is intended to support students, faculty, and independent researchers interested in conducting oral history interviews about Northwestern University’s history and depositing them with the McCormick Library of Special Collections & University Archives. The guide provides information and tips for planning an oral history project, conducting an interview, identifying equipment, preparing transcripts, and disseminating your finished project.  

For assistance, please contact specialcollections@northwestern.edu. 

Instructions for Depositing Interviews with the McCormick Library

According to the Oral History Association, “Oral history is a field of study and a method of gathering, preserving and interpreting the voices and memories of people, communities, and participants in past events.” It is a valuable method for filling in gaps in our understanding of history, giving space to underrepresented voices and perspectives, and sometimes correcting the narrative when needed. The McCormick Library of Special Collections and University Archives welcomes donated oral histories that contribute to telling the history of Northwestern University and fall within our collecting interests. If you are interested in donating oral histories to Northwestern University Archives, please follow the instructions below:

Process for depositing oral histories at the McCormick Library: 

  1. First, submit the “Oral History Donation Interest” form. Complete this before starting your project. 
  2. After submitting your interest form, an archivist will reach out to schedule a brief consultation to ensure that the McCormick Library is a good fit for your interview(s) and to offer support in your project planning. 

  3. After conducting your interview(s) and when you are ready to deposit them with the McCormick Library, ensure you have everything on the checklist:

        4. Then, submit the documents using the deposit form. An archivist will provide access to the electronic form after a consultation. 

If you have questions at any point, please contact specialcollections@northwestern.edu.