Statistics and data resources by subject.
Last Updated: Aug 1, 2014
Check the Resources for Data Analysis LibGuide for help with statistical methods and statistical programs.
Check other Subject LibGuides for data and statistical resources related to a specific subject.
Social Science Data Services is located in the Government Information Department - find us here (below). You are also welcome to set an appointment.
- ICPSR Data Archive
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to thousands of social science datasets for research and instruction. This is a good first place to start when looking for social science data for secondary analysis.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight
A master index to statistical publications from Federal, state, local, international, and other sources. Provides full text of selected tables, and links to many data-producing agencies.
- Data-Planet Statistical Datasets (Classic Interface)
Data-Planet Statistical DataSets is a collection of over 700 data files from public and commercial sources. Unlike other data aggregation tools, Statistical DataSets offers interactive data visualization, including maps, trends and rankings; and the ability to compare data from different datasets and publishers. Options to export into MS Excel, XML, PDF, PPT, Shape Files and Reference Management Tools.
- Roper Center For Public Opinion Research
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. The data held by the Roper Center range from the 1930s, when survey research was in its infancy, to the present. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented.
- United States Decennial Census
The Government Information Department has a rich collection of official copies in print of the Census of United States conducted between 1790 and 1970. We also have a series of GeoLytics Census Data Products for 1970, 1980, 1990, and 2000 Census and CD/DVDs for 1990 and 2000 Census distributed by U.S. Census Bureau. For other historic census data, you may also check the University of Virginia Library’ Historical Census site.
- American Fact Finder
The Census Bureau's primary vehicle for distributing recent Census data. Data from the 2000 and 2010 Census, economic censuses since 2002, and the American Community Survey are also available here.
- Social Explorer
Provides selected historical data from the U.S. Decennial Census going back to 1790, as well as current data from the Census and the American Community Survey, and some religion data. Interactive mapping features allow you to generate small thematic maps from the data.
- USA.gov - Reference Center - Data and Staistics
Features a list of data resources from Federal government agencies. Includes such topics as, business, economics, defense, international relations, environment, energy, agriculture, family, geospatial data, health, nutrition, jobs and education, public safety, science, technology, transportation, and recreation.
The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.