Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Norhtwestern University Archives
The Northwestern University Archives holds a number of collections related to the history of medicine in the United States. For more information on these collections, and to access them, please contact University Archivist Kevin Leonard (email@example.com).
- Walter J. McNerney papers
The Walter J. McNerney papers documents McNerney’s professional career, especially his work as president of the Blue Cross Association, his role in the merger of Blue Cross with the Blue Shield Association, his tenure as president and chief executive officer of Blue Cross Blue Shield Association, his advocacy for better healthcare benefits for the elderly, and his central and influential place in the creation of the federal Medicare and Medicaid programs. But the collection also reflects McNerney’s early administrative and teaching responsibilities at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, his efforts to establish the University of Michigan’s program in hospital administration, and his teaching and health policy program responsibilities with Northwestern University’s Kellogg School of Management.
- American Hospital Supply Corporation Records
Filling twenty-two boxes, records of the American Hospital Supply Corporation (AHSC) date from 1920 to 1986. Records include the following principal categories: advertising; marketing; corporate correspondence; divisional records for acquisitions and subsidiaries; mergers; scrapbooks; stocks and securities; legal records.
- American Hospital Supply Corporation Catalogs and Publications
Filling twenty-one boxes, this series dates between 1928 and 1986. Included are a variety of product catalogs from American Hospital Supply Corporation and from subsidiaries Dietary Products, Hamilton Industries, McGaw Laboratories, V. Mueller Surgical Products, Rehabilitation Products, and Scientific Products. Also included are a collection of corporate annual reports, product listing and price Bulletins, and newsletters.
- Foster G. McGaw (1897-1986) Papers
Foster McGaw created one of the great medical supply businesses, American Hospital Supply Corporation (AHSC).
- Foster G. McGaw (1897-1986) Papers Scrapbooks
This series consists of twenty-six scrapbooks presented to Foster and Mary McGaw by some of the institutions nationwide to which the McGaws made substantial financial donations. The scrapbooks acknowledge the McGaws’ gifts of building funds, scholarships, and other monetary contributions, and commemorate ground breaking and cornerstone- laying ceremonies, building dedications, award dinners, memorial concerts and arts festivals
- Malcolm T. MacEachern (1881-1956) Papers
Malcolm T. MacEachern was the founder of the academic field of hospital administration. The MacEachern papers fill 21 boxes, span the period 1907-1993, but date largely from the period of MacEachern’s most intense professional activity, 1922 to 1955.
- Quentin Young Papers
Noted Chicago physician and advocate for single payer health care.
- United States Army Base Hospital Number 12 World War I and II Records
This collection includes clippings, programs, poems, newsletters, journals, published articles, memorabilia, correspondence, photographs, and a scrapbook. This collection has been digitized and van be viewed online.
- Margaret Pfrommer Papers
Margaret Pfrommer was a consumer advocate for people with severe disabilities. She contracted polio in 1956, which left her only with the ability to move her head. Experiencing many difficulties herself she began advocacy work for the handicapped and disabled. Her goal was to enable those people to work independently, and live dignified, productive lives. This collection fills 14 boxes (including one box with slides) and spans the years from 1969 through 2008.
- Isaac Arthur Abt (1867-1955) Papers
Isaac Arthur Abt, pediatrician and Northwestern University Medical School professor, began his practice in internal medicine but gravitated to pediatrics, with a particular intererst in nutrion, and became one of the earliest specialists in the field.