Librarian
Geoff Morse
Contact:
Geoff Morse
Liaison for American Studies, History, Jewish Studies, and Religious Studies
Interim Head, Research Services
Room 2624
2nd floor, east tower
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, Illinois 60208-2300
phone: 847-467-1866
gmorse@northwestern.edu
For more library assistance please see the Library web site.
Liaison for American Studies, History, Jewish Studies, and Religious Studies
Interim Head, Research Services
Room 2624
2nd floor, east tower
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, Illinois 60208-2300
phone: 847-467-1866
gmorse@northwestern.edu
For more library assistance please see the Library web site.
Librarian
Yujay Masah
she/her
Contact:
Book a Research Support Meeting
My Zoom Meeting Room
847-491-2919
Main University Library
2nd Floor, North Tower
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
Book a Research Support Meeting
My Zoom Meeting Room
847-491-2919
Main University Library
2nd Floor, North Tower
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
Journals /Magazines /Popular Press
Databases indexing multiple titles
- Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles published in the most important popular magazines published in the United States from 1890 until 1982.Provides some links to full text. A key resource for identifying what was published in the popular press during this era.
- American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new windowFull text database of American periodicals that began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many more. For those periodicals that continued to publish after 1900, coverage is extended well into the 20th century.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals Archive Online is a full text archive of millions of articles published in over 700 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, in English and other Western European languages. Coverage is from 1802 to 2005.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowContains primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch indexes newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press, offering both national and regional coverage. Ethnic NewsWatch presents multi-ethnic and multi-cultural publications in one resource covering 1959-present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowAlternative Press Index is a biannual subject index to over 300 alternative, left, and radical journals, newspapers, and magazines. The index is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.
- Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new windowIndigenous Newspapers in North America aims to present a diverse and robust collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016.concerned.
- Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press Collection at The University of ArizonaThe Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
- Independent Voices - JSTOR CollectionIndependent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Individual Titles
- Life (Chicago, Ill. : Online)LIFE Magazine is the photographic magazine that chronicled the 20th Century. Users can browse, search and view photos of today’s people and events. They have free access to share, print and post images for personal use
- Time Magazine
"American weekly newsmagazine, published in New York City. Time was the creation of two young journalists, Henry R. Luce and Briton Hadden, who wanted to start a magazine that would inform busy readers in a systematic, concise, and well-organized manner about current events in the United States and the rest of the world. With Hadden as editor and Luce as business manager, they brought out the first issue on March 3, 1923. Time’s format became standard for most other general newsmagazines, consisting of dozens of short articles tersely summarizing information on subjects of importance and general interest and arranged in “departments” covering such fields as national and international affairs, business, education, science, medicine, law, religion, sports, books, and the arts."
- Rolling Stone Archive This link opens in a new windowThe backfile of Rolling Stone, from its launch in 1967 to the present. One of the most influential consumer magazines of the 20th-21st centuries, it initially sought to reflect the cultural, social, and political outlook of a generation of students and young adults. It has been a leading vehicle for rock and popular music journalism, as well as covering wider entertainment topics such as film and popular culture. Major journalists and authors to have contributed include Hunter S. Thompson, Patti Smith, and Tom Wolfe. – Publisher
- Vogue Archive This link opens in a new windowVogueArchive contains theentire runof Vogue magazine (U.S. edition), from1892 to the current issue. All content, including covers, images, fold-outs,and advertisements, is fully searchable and updatedmonthly.
- The Atlantic Archive
The Atlantic, American journal of news, literature, and opinion that was founded in 1857 and is one of the oldest and most-respected magazines in the United States. The Atlantic Monthly was created by Moses Dresser Phillips and Francis H. Underwood in Boston, and the first issue was published in November 1857. - Jet Magazine"A digest-size picture magazine focusing on African American entertainment and news, Jet was created in 1951, six years after John H. Johnson first published Ebony magazine. Jet was modeled after small, white-oriented “pocket magazines” like the now-defunct Quick magazine. The idea behind the name, Johnson explained in the first issue, was to give readers national news and events fast. The publication was an accessible way to present the news covered in black newspapers to a national audience. The Johnson philosophy of enticing black Americans with entertainment in order to give them the news worked well with Jet: the magazine covered both black entertainment figures and civil rights activities."
Coverage from 1951 to 2008 - EbonyA monthly magazine that told about black life and achievements in words and photographs, similar to Life, a popular family magazine. Ebony offered pictorial essays on sports and entertainment figures and highlighted black achievement in all areas of American life. Over the years, the magazine has added sections on cooking and health.
Coverage 1959 to 2008