Accessing Full Text
Some article databases provide full text while most only provide references to articles.
Look out for the purple "Find it @ NU" button 
among your database search results.
Click on the button to see if Northwestern provides full text access to the article via one of our electronic journal packages.
Google Scholar
Psychology Databases
- Annual Review of PsychologyAnnual edited volume of articles demonstrating the current trends in research and inquiry in the field of psychology, including biological bases of behavior, sensation and perception, cognitive processes, animal learning and behavior, human development, psychopathology, clinical and counseling psychology, social psychology, personality, environmental psychology, community psychology and more. Covers 1950-present.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.
Note: You can use the list of PsycINFO Classification Codes to narrow the context of your search to a particular topical area. Select the code you want then add it to your search by using the Advanced Search mode. Enter the code in one of the search boxes and select CC Classification as the field. - Web of Science This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books.Powerful tools allow you to search and see what articles in the database have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
Law Review Databases
Law journals and law reviews are typically the best place to start your legal research. As secondary sources, law journal articles discuss the substantive legal issues and provide references to primary law soucres.
- Law Journal Library - Hein OnlineThis online collection contains more than 1,620 law and law-related journals in full text. Coverage goes back the first issue published but typically does not include most-currently published issues.
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books This link opens in a new windowThis database covers important English language legal literature, with international coverage, of scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews and more. Covers 1981-present. For earlier materials, see the Index to Legal Periodicals and Books Retrospective: 1908-1981
Related Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowThis database covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Covers 1972-present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides electronic access to back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social science, and science. While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
- NCJRS Abstracts This link opens in a new windowThe National Criminal Justice Research Service (NCJRS) hosts one of the largest criminal and juvenile justice libraries in the world. This database contains references to thousands of publications, reports, articles, and audiovisual products from the U.S. and around the world dealing with topics on crime, victim assistance, and public safety. Covers 1970s-present.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowProvides citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issues. PAIS is generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature. Covers 1915-present.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSociological Abstracts provides citations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Content coverage includes culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, race and ethnicity, social change and economic development, and more. 1952-Present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex to the literature in political science, including journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and reviews. Covers 1975-present.