Political Science Librarian
Jeannette Moss
Contact:
University Library
2 North (Core) Rm. 2303
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
2 North (Core) Rm. 2303
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
847-491-2169
Declassified Documents
- Declassified Documents Reference System (DDRS)Significantly larger than DNSA. Best for breadth of coverage; however, no editorial apparatus. Includes texts and images of select declassified documents from diverse sources, including the CIA, Department of State, National Security Council, Department of Defense, and the FBI. A very good source of primary documents related to the Cold War.
- Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) This link opens in a new window Primary source documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Individual parts are: Afghanistan : the making of U.S. policy, 1973-1990 -- Argentina, 1975-1980 : the making of U.S. human rights policy -- The Berlin Crisis, 1958-1962 -- Chile and the United States : U.S. Policy toward Democracy, Dictatorship, and Human Rights, 1970-1990 -- China and the United States: from hostility to engagement, 1960-1998 -- CIA Covert Operations: From Carter to Obama, 1977-2010 -- CIA Covert Operations II: The Year of Intelligence, 1975 -- CIA Covert Operations III: From Kennedy to Nixon, 1961-1974 -- CIA Covert Operations, Part IV: The Eisenhower Years, 1953-1961 -- CIA Family Jewels Indexed -- Colombia and the United States: Political Violence, Narcotics, and Human Rights, 1948-2010 -- Cuba and the U.S.: The Declassified History of Negotiations to Normalize Relations, 1959-2016 -- The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962 -- The Cuban Missile Crisis: 50th Anniversary Update -- The Cuban Missile Crisis Revisited: An International Collection, From Bay of Pigs to Nuclear Brink -- Death Squads, Guerrilla War, Covert Ops, and Genocide: Guatemala and the United States, 1954-1999 --Donald Rumsfeld's Snowflakes, Part I: The Pentagon and U.S. Foreign Policy, 2001-2003 -- El Salvador: the making of U.S. policy, 1977-1984 -- Death squads, guerrilla war, covert operations, and genocide: Guatemala and the United States, 1954-1999 -- Electronic Surveillance and the National Security Agency: From Shamrock to Snowden -- El Salvador: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977-1984 -- El Salvador: war, peace, and human rights, 1980-1994 -- Iran: the making of U.S. policy, 1977-1980 -- The Iran-Contra Affair: the making of a scandal, 1983-1988 -- Iraqgate: Saddam Hussein, U.S. policy and the prelude to the Persian Gulf War, 1980-1994 -- Japan and the United States: diplomatic, security, and economic relations, 1960-1976 -- Japan and the United States : diplomatic, security, and economic relations, 1977-1992 -- Japan and the United States: diplomatic, security, and economic relations, Part III, 1961-2000 -- The Kissinger Conversations, Supplement: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977 -- The Kissinger Conversations, Supplement II: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977 -- Kissinger telephone conversations: a verbatim record of U.S. diplomacy, 1969-1977 -- Kissinger transcripts: a verbatim record of U.S. diplomacy, 1969-1977 -- Mexico-United States counternarcotics policy, 1969-2013 -- National Security Agency, organization and operations, 1945-2009 -- Nicaragua: the making of U.S. policy, 1978-1990 -- Peru : human rights, drugs and democracy, 1980-2000 -- The Philippines: U.S. policy during the Marcos years, 1965-1986 -- Presidential directives on national security from Harry Truman to William Clinton, Part I -- Presidential directives on national security from Harry Truman to George W. Bush, Part II -- The President's Daily Brief: Kennedy, Johnson, and the CIA, 1961-1969 -- South Africa: the making of U.S. policy, 1962-1989 -- The Soviet estimate: U.S. analysis of the Soviet Union, 1947-1991 -- Soviet-U.S. Relations: The End of the Cold War, 1985-1991 -- Targeting Iraq, Part 1: Planning, Invasion, and Occupation, 1997-2004 -- Targeting Iraq, Part II: War and Occupation, 2004-2011 -- Terrorism and US policy 1968-2002 -- U.S. espionage and intelligence, 1947-1996 -- U.S. Foreign Policy in the Carter Years, 1977-1981 -- U.S. Intelligence and China: Collection, Analysis and Covert Action -- The U.S. intelligence community: organization, operations and management, 1947-1989 -- The U.S. Intelligence Community After 9/11 -- U.S. intelligence on weapons of mass destruction: from World War II to Iraq -- U.S. military uses of space, 1945-1991 -- U.S. Nuclear History, 1969-1976: Weapons, Arms Control, and War Plans in an Age of Strategic Parity -- U.S. nuclear history: nuclear arms and politics in the Missile Age, 1955-1968 -- U.S. nuclear non-proliferation policy, 1945-1991 -- U.S. Nuclear Nonproliferation 2, Part I: From Atoms for Peace to the NPT, 1954-1968 -- U.S. policy in the Vietnam War. Part I: 1954-1968 -- U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part II: 1969-1975 -- The United States and the Two Koreas, 1969-2000 -- The United States and the Two Koreas, Part II, 1969-2010 -- U.S. Policy toward Iran: From the Revolution to the Nuclear Accord, 1978-2015 -- The President's Daily Brief: Nixon, Ford, and the CIA, 1969-1977 -- Donald Rumsfeld's Snowflakes, Part I: The Pentagon and U.S. Foreign Policy, 2001-2003 -- Donald Rumsfeld’s Snowflakes, Part II: The Pentagon and U.S. Foreign Policy, 2004-2006 -- U.S. Climate Change Diplomacy: From the Montreal Protocol to the Paris Agreement, 1981-2015 -- Afghanistan War and the United States, 1998-2017 -- U.S.-Russia Relations: From the Fall of the Soviet Union to the Rise of Putin, 1991-2000.
- Foreign Relations of the United StatesOfficial documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified. Provides context, editorial apparatus.
- Freedom of Information ActDept of Justice guide to the FOIA. See listings for the Reference Guide and FOIA Reference Materials.
- Information Security Oversight Office: National Security ArchivesISOO "is responsible to the President for policy and oversight of the Government-wide security classification system and the National Industrial Security Program."
- National Security Archive: Electronic Briefing Books"... online access to critical declassified records on issues including U.S. national security, foreign policy, diplomatic and military history, intelligence policy, and more. Updated frequently...."
- OpenTheGovermentWeb archive of OpenTheGovernment".... seeks to advance the public's right to know and to reduce secrecy in government."
- Project on Government Secrecy: FASFederation of American Scientists project aiming to maximize public oversight and minimize government secrecy.
- Hein Online This link opens in a new windowHein Online provides access to a vast PDF collection of legal research materials, including law journals (many of which date back to the 1800s) and a wide range of primary sources on the history of Anglo-American law.
- Declassified Documents Guide by Anne Zald, NU Documents LibrarianA more comprehensive list of related databases and sites.
Foreign Policy and Diplomacy
- American DiplomacyConcerned with the Foreign Service and diplomacy, but also includes dispatches and reports; maintained by U. of North Carolina-Chapel Hill.
- ApoliticalA policy resource and network used by public servants in 140+ countries. Available to students as a free weekly email roundup of global government innovation and public service perspectives. Sign up through the website to subscribe.
- CQ Historic Documents Series Online Edition This link opens in a new windowIssued since 1972, each annual volume of which contains approximately 100 documents covering the most significant events of the year. The documents include presidential speeches, international agreements, Supreme Court decisions, U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
- Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy: The Avalon Project at Yale Law SchoolDedicated "to providing access via the World Wide Web to primary source materials in the fields of Law, History, Economics, and Politics, Diplomacy and Government. We intend to add value to these primary sources by linking to other documents expressly referred to in the body of the text." Includes pre-18th century through 21st century documents.
- Documents on Secrecy PolicyObama Administration documents on classification and declassification.
- Embassy WorldDirectory & search engine of the world's embassies & consulates.
- Foreign Governments: Official WebsitesLinks to pages of ministries, departments, and other governmental bodies for all nations. Maintained by International Documents Librarian of NU.
- Foreign Policy of the U.S. AdministrationThe White House website on foreign policy of the current administration.
- Foreign Relations of the United StatesOfficial documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified. Provides context, editorial apparatus.
- Hein Online This link opens in a new windowThis is the same as above, but a few more years and via the HeinOnline platform. Official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified. Provides context, editorial apparatus.
- Foreign Relations of the United States: RecentThe same as above, but more recent years and via the State Dept's Office of the Historian. The official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Began in 1861. Also a source of declassified records over the last two decades.
- Historical Encyclopedia of American Diplomatic ConceptsBelligerents, Brinkmanship, and the Big Stick : A Historical Encyclopedia of American Diplomatic Concepts
- Yale UN Oral History Project This link opens in a new windowYale University’s United Nations Studies Program has undertaken an oral history study to preserve the recollections of those involved in international political developments in which the UN has played a role. This resource contains over 150 transcribed interviews with key players, from numerous countries, involved in major international events. The transcripts are divided into two groups: 1989-1991 and 1996-2002.