Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference Books in Chinese
Chinese reference books purchased in 2008, including dictionaries,encyclopedias, bibliographies and indexes, cover varies subjects
Le Grand Ricci Online
Le Grand Ricci offers approximately 300,000 Chinese words and expressions from the early beginnings to the end of the 20th century. Over 2,000 characters deal with the oldest forms of writing, or the so-called oracle bone inscriptions. Le Grand Ricci incorporates a wide spectrum of lexical domains, ranging from literature and history, to science, specialist technologies, medicine, law, philosophy, religion, etc.
Reference Tools in English
Oxford Bibliographies: Chinese Studies
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on China across all disciplines.
Online encyclopedias of business, education, history, medicine, religion and social science.
Oxford Reference Online
Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. All fully indexed and cross-searchable.
Berkshire Dictionary of Chinese Biography
This publication introduces the reader to emperors, politicians, poets, writers, artists, scientists, explorers, and philosophers who have shaped and transformed China over the course of 5000 years. In 135 entries, written by some of the world’s leading China scholars, the Dictionary takes the reader from the important figures of ancient China to Communist leaders Mao Zedong and Deng Xiaoping. The in-depth essays provide rich historical context, and create a compelling narrative that weaves abstract concepts and disparate events into a coherent story.
Chinese Reference Books in Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Encyclopedia of Modern China
The Encyclopedia of Modern China provides critical information on the most populous country and most dynamic trade market in the world: the people, politics, economics, religion, philosophy, traditions, art, and literature of this ancient and enduring civilization are explored from the beginning of the nineteenth century to the present day.
- Pictorial Record of the Qing Dynasty : Business Documents
Covers various business documents including trademarks, business firm seals, contracts, bills, stamps, etc. from the mid-19th century through 1911. Provides descriptions, names of business firms and registration dates.
- Pictorial Record of the Qing Dynasty : Manchurian Railway
Records the early stage of the Manchurian Railway (1906-1911), covering its operations along the railway and in its accessory lands. Provides resources for studying the history of Japan’s invasion of China dating from the late Qing Dynasty.
- Pictorial Record of the Qing Dynasty : Old Manchu Capital
Contains numerous photographs and paintings of the organizational system of the Liaoning area, its war relics, religious temples, culture, and education during the Qing Dynasty.
- Pictorial Record of the Qing Dynasty : Rivers and Sites
Includes two major categories of maps: river maps and maps of historical sites. Depicts the rivers and areas along the banks while at the same time tracing the shapes of city walls, places of historical interest, and beauty spots along the rivers.
- Shanghai City Guide
Provides information on all aspects of economic and social activity in the city. Describes in detail the city’s geographical location, its commercial development, its investment environment, its coherent yet diverse society of immigrants, and its culture.
- Shanghai Education
Presents an overview of the history and the future of education in Shanghai. Also discusses the successful implementation of the nine-year compulsory education system, the increasing enrollment in higher education, and the fast-growing enrollment in vocational education.
- Shanghai Expo
Reviews the history of the World Expo and analyzes China’s connection with it. Introduces Shanghai as an international metropolis and reveals the secret of Shanghai’s successful bid to host the 2010 World Expo. Looks ahead to the 2010 World Expo and covers the ongoing preparations and plans.
- Shanghai Finance
Presents an account of the current status of Shanghai’s finance industry, covering such areas as banking, securities, futures, insurance, interbank lending and borrowing, bonds, foreign exchange, the stock exchange, and gold.
- Shanghai Industries
Reviews the evolution of various industries in Shanghai over the past century and elaborates on their current status. Also looks ahead to the future and examines the numerous opportunities for local and international investors.
- Shanghai Pudong
Examines the past, present and future of Pudong’s economy, urban development, culture, healthcare and education. Also charts the economic achievements of Pudong over the past decade.
- Shanghai Urban Planning
Presents basic information on Shanghai as a city and highlights some key, influential projects of urban development under-taken since the 1970s. Examines in detail the 2001 Master City Plan of Shanghai. Also introduces Shanghai’s urban planning administration systems as well as the examination and approval procedures.
Chinese Reference Books in Gale Virtual Reference Library Continuing
100 Years of Li & Fung : Rise from Family Business to Multinational
Illustrates the rise of Li & Fung and the historical, geographical, and personal factors that have set the stage for Li & Fung’s development in the last 100 years.
China Book Publishing : the First Offical Industry Report
Provides data and analyses on the overall situation and development of China’s book publishing industry, specifically covering the years 2003-2006.
Fiscal Policy in China
Examines the key factors which have promoted the evolution of fiscal policy in China, as well as their profound implications for the socioeconomic development. Explores the future course and perspectives of fiscal policy in the context of marketization, globalization, and the scientific approach to development.
Forestry in China : Historical Transitions and Industry Developments
Presents the current state of China’s forestry industry. Explains that the transition from a focus on timber production to ecological development is inevitable, and a major breakthrough for forestry development in China.
Higher Education in China
Presents both the historical development and the current state of higher education in China. Emphasizes the ongoing education reform, the government’s education policies, and the development in higher education since the 1990s.
My Way : the Eight Strategies of Air China Towards Success
Presents a personal account of Li Jiaxiang’s successful role shift from an air force general to an entrepreneur of a mega business. Describes how he fuses ancient and modern military strategies in his interpretation of corporate management from the perspective of eight topics: business starting, positioning, human resource management, brand building, control & management, capital operations, the future, and successful thinking.
Publishing in China : an Essential Guide
Offers a commentary on trends in the Chinese publishing industry in the WTO era; on the process of integrating the publishing industries in the Chinese mainland, Taiwan, and Hong Kong; and on the entry of foreign players into the Chinese publishing market.
Taxation in China
Introduces China’s current tax system by going into the history of each tax and its subsequent development, highlighting the role of the taxpayer and organizations in the tax structure.
Chinese Studies Librarian