Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Websites by Subjects
- Asian Historical Architecture
Edited by a number of professors and graduate students from Columbia, Yale, and the University of Virginia, this site offers thousands of photographic images of Asia's diverse architectural heritage. In total, the site contains over 6450 photos of 457 sites across seventeen countries. The geographical parameters of the site are limited to areas heavily influenced by Buddhism, Confucianism, or Hinduism. From the site's homepage, visitors can click on any one of the seventeen countries covered here, and look for various items of interest.
- Buddhist Art WWW Virtual Library
- Chinese art (through ArtLex)
Architecture in China (through Asian Historical Architecture)
Chinese Art (through Asia-art.net)
- Taoism and the Arts of China (special exhibition at The Art Institute of Chicago Museum)
- Innovations in Chinese Painting (1850 - 1950) (through The Huntington Archive of Buddhist and Related Art, Ohio State University, Columbus)
- China (through the Jacques-Edouard Berger Foundation's World Art Treasures)
- The International Dunhuang Project
- 國 立 故 宮 博 物 院, Taipei
- 故宮博物院(Beijing Palace Museum)
- Asian Film Connections (Asia Pacific Media Center, Annenberg Center for Communication, University of Southern California, CA, USA) Key features of the Website include: (1) A list of all films made in China, India, Japan, Korea, and Taiwan from 1998 on, including basic information such as synopses, filmmakers, cast, length, format, and availability of prints. (2) Eight to fifteen highlighted films and directors from each country, with detailed information and video clips. (3) A list of all internationally awarded films of each country from 1988 on Reviews, essays, interviews and filmographies, plus reprints from Asia's leading film journals, such as Cinemaya and Movie/TV Marketing. (4) Press kits and contact information. (5) Links to other relevant websites.
- Hong Kong Film Archive (Leisure and Cultural Service Department) Official web site, including Archive Functions, Public Access Facilities, Film Programmes and Seminars, Exhibitions, Archive Collections, Newsletters, Publications.
- Hong Kong Movie Database (Ryan Law, Hong Kong, China)including film database, photos and reviews of Hong Kong films.
- 中國電影(Chinese Film)(China Film Archive, PR China) Database by 中國電影館(China Film Archive) on films produced in the PRC, but also from Hong Kong and Taiwan. It contains film descriptions, pictures and biographical data from the film industry.
- 中国电影资料馆 电影百年 (Lists of Chinese movies by production years)
- 中国影视库 (Lists of Chinese movies by genre, by production year and by production region)
- 央视国际 电影频道 (Lists of Chinese movies by genre, by production year, etc.)
- 中國電影資料庫 (Lu Pin, Hong Kong, China) A very extensive database covering Chinese films made in mainland China (from 1905 till present), Hong Kong, Taiwan, and other regions. This tool is searchable (title, actors, etc. etc.) in English and in Chinese, includes information on awards, and has a section on "News about Chinese Movies". Some film data in the database even give full text film critiques.
- WWW Virtual Library: Chinese History
- China 1840-1949 research orientated web site on modern chinese history.
- Chinese Cultural Studies: Bibliographical Guide.
Created by Paul Halsall of Brooklyn College, this site is organized by subject, including Classic Chinese Sources in Translation, Gender, Chinese Women, Philosophy and Religion, and Movies Addressing Chinese History and Culture. Historical texts are divided into periods, from the Zhou Dynasty to Post-Mao China. A Guide to Chinese Philosophical Texts for Inclusion in Introductory Courses is also featured.
- Electronic Index to the Early Shenbao申報 (1872-1895)This online-index of important articles from the Shanghai daily Shenbao covers the years from the paper's foundation in April 1872 to the end of the year 1895. It is designed to provide quick key word access to the more than 10,000 entries and thus facilitate the use of this important source for the history of late Qing China.
- Hong Kong History resources maintainly by Chinese university of Hong Kong, focuses on the history of Hong Kong, including pictures, books, articles and primary research materials.
- Hong Kong: Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow Hong Kong history made by CNN.
- John Fairbank Memorial Chinese History Virtual LibraryThis page provides links to sites related to modern Chinese history (Qing, Republic, PRC); good pictures.
- Modern Chinese History: A Basic BibliographyCompiled by Brent Irvin of the University of California, San Diego History Department, this site is more extensive than the modest title suggests. The site is organized by era, each of which is divided into subjects. The bibliography covers the early Qing period to the People's Republic, but is strongest for the late Qing and Republican periods. It is part of a larger site on Chinese history.
- 燦爛的中國文明 on Chinese civilization. From HK.
- 中國歷史博物館(The National Museum of Chinese History)(The National Museum of Chinese History, Beijing, China) An interesting site with all the necessary information on the museum itself, including the history of the museum. Also included is the major exhibition of the Museum (Exhibition of Chinese History) with photos covering exhibits of the time since the Palaeolithic age.
- 內閣大庫檔案 Institute of history and philology, Academic Sinica, Taiwan. 中央研究院歷史語言研究所。
- 文物圖象研究室資料庫檢索系統（簡帛金石資料庫 - 全文）
- The Rev. Claude L. Pickens, Jr. Collection on Muslims in China is the culmination of a two-year project to catalog and digitize some 1000 photos of China's Muslim population in western China in the 1920s and 1930s and the activities of
Christian missionaries working among them.
Recommended Websites by Subjects Continuing
- Amnesty International Information on human rights in China.
- China 89'Provides documents and pictures on student movement in 1989.
- China Leadership Monitor offers authoritative assessments of trends in Chinese leadership politics and policy. you’ll find articles from the current issue as well as an archive of back issues, and subscription information.
- Culture Revolution Collection of Culture Revolution materials managed by Hua Xia Wen Zhai.
- The Gate of Heavenly Peace (Long Bow Group, Inc.) THE GATE OF HEAVENLY PEACE documents the history of the 1989 movement and reflects the drama, tension, humor, absurdity, heroism, and many tragedies of the six weeks from April to June in 1989." Very useful, not only for its information on the film THE GATE OF HEAVENLY PEACE (Tiananmen) made by Carma Hinton but also for numerous documents about the Beijing spring of 1989 and the symbolism of the Tiananmen Square.
- China Tibet information center official web site with basic information on Tibetan including history, economics, pictures, religion, etc.
- Digital Archive for Chinese Studies (DACHS) (Institute of Chinese Studies, University of Heidelberg, Heidelberg, Germany)
- Foreign relations of the United States, 1964-1968 (Harriet Dashiell Schwar, United States Government Printing Office, Washington, 1998 ) This site is part of the U.S. Department of State website and contains declassified archival material on the diplomatic relations between the USA and China between 1964 and 1968. The material is presented in the Department of State's documentary series "Foreign policy and diplomacy of the United States". The documents in this volume are drawn from the files of the Department of State and the Bureau, Office, and other lot files of the relevant Departmental units. The volume also includes records from the Department of Defense and the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA).
- Human Rights Watch
- 政策信息 government policy and analysis.
- 中国选举与治理网Established by The Carter Center and the Research Center on Chinese Local Governance at Beijing University. It provides Chinese officials at all levels a resource center for governance and election affairs and gives scholars worldwide the opportunity to study Chinese politics and offer reform measures. Users can access news, articles, academic papers, laws and regulations, and data on Chinese elections and governance on all levels. The site also features exclusive reports on election and governance matters commissioned by the China Elections Project at The Carter Center.
- Selected Works of Deng Xiaoping in English.
- 勞改基金會 (The Laogai Research Foundation, Washington, DC, USA) A non-profit organization [est. in 1992 by Hongda Harry Wu] dedicated to collecting information about China's "vast system of forced labor camps."
- 中國人權 (Human Rights in China, USA/Hong Kong) This site contains information, in both English and Chinese, produced by the organization, Human Rights in China. It includes regular press releases, reports, articles from the quarterly journal, China Rights Forum, organizational work reports, educational materials, action ideas and links to other sites. Subjects covered include political prisoners and dissent, legal reform, freedom of association, women's rights, workers' rights, children's rights and so on. Since its founding in March 1989, Human Rights in China has become one of the major sources of information about human rights conditions in the PRC."
- China Confidential China Confidential has been reporting and analyzing political developments in China since 2005. Although repeatedly being cited by various sources (incl. BBC) the identity of its author "Confidential Reporter" has [as of May 2006] not yet been revealed.
- EastSouthWestNorth东南西北 one of the most relevant blogs about current China. Also included are issues related to Taiwan and Hong Kong. Born 1949 in Shanghai and having spent 32 years in the US, its author Roland Soong currently lives in Hong Kong. In the real world Robert Soong is the chief technical officer for KMR, the world's second-largest media research firm.
- The Statistics of China(China Data Center, University of Michigan, USA): There is information on (1) Land and Resources, (2) Population, (3) Economy Indicators of Nation, (4) Economy Indicators of Regions, (5) Agriculture, (6) Manufacturing Industry, (7) Domestic Commerce, (8) Foreign Trade and Investment, (9) Finance and Taxation, (10) Energy, (11) Transportation and Communication, (12) Investment, Construction and City, (13) Science and Technology, (14) Mass Media and Culture and (15) Education, Public Health and Welfare. Primary resources. Data are presented in charts. The most recent data are of 1997.
- China Dimensions: Provided by the Consortium for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN), USA. Site includes: (1) Administrative Regions; (2) Fundamental Maps; (3) Population and Public Health; (4) Economics; (5) Public Policies; (6) Additional China Data. Primary resources. Data reside on FTP and need to be downloaded. Data are of 1990s.
- Asia and the Pacific in Figures 2000(Statistics Division, United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP), Bangkok, Thailand): Statistical data include: (1) Population Statistics; (2) Social Statistics; (3) Employment; (4) Energy; (5) National Accounts; (6) External Trade; (7) Government Finance; (8) International Finance; (9) Production; (10) Price - Index Numbers; (11) Land Use; (12) Transport; (13) Tourism. Data available as HTML and MS Excel files. Primary resources. China statistic is one of the divisions. Most recent data are of 2003.
- Can China feed itself? A System for Evaluation of Policy Options (Gerhard K. Heilig, International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis, Austria) Age Groups; Business Skills; Diet Change; Disaster; Floods; Infrastructure; Land; Pollution; Population; Urbanization; Water; and many others (currently some 150 topics listed). Primary resources. Most recent data are of 1996. Data projections further into 2050.
- Urban China Research Network (University at Albany, SUNY, Albany, NY, USA) Primary resources. Data are generated by categories and can be exported to Excel. Most recent data are of 1999.
- AccessAsia (HDEP International, Hawaii, USA): Contains business list and directory. Can search but enhanced service needs registration.
- 中国外商投资企业名录数据库 - Domestic and foreign company catalog and directory. Fee based.
- 外商在华投资政策和法规 - Policy and legal documents that regulate foreign investment in China. No data.
- 中国中小城市网 – Top 100 economic development index of small and media cities in 2004.
- 中华人民共和国国家统计局- National Bureau of Statistic of China. The gateway to dataset of many subcategories. Include links to provincial statistical websites.
- 中国人口信息网 – Contains population database. Have search function.
- 省级与市级统计信息网 - Sub pages of National Bureau of Statistics of China. Links to statistical websites of provinces and cities, international organizations, foreign countries.
- 中国妇女网(China Women Net)(中华全国妇女联 合会(All China Women's Fed.), Beijing, China) including important docments, laws and regulations, history, brief biography, and women's organizations, etc.
- Lie Nu Zhuan 烈女传Compiled toward the end of the Former Han dynasty (202 B.C.- A.D. 9), Liu Xiang's (79-8 B.C.) Lienu zhuan [Traditions of Exemplary Women] is the earliest extant book in the Chinese tradition solely devoted to the moral education of women.
- Chinaonline Women
- 中华妇女网 mainly for women's newspaper：中国妇女报
Special thanks to Luo Zhou, Chinese Studies Librarian at Duke University Library, who kindly permits the reproduction of her Chinese Internet Resources guide at Northwestern University Library
Chinese Studies Librarian