Key Resources
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowThis database is a bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Journal articles; books; government documents; statistical compilations; committee reports; directories; serials; reports of public, intergovernmental, and private organizations; and most other forms of printed literature from all over the world are indexed.
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new windowABI/INFORM covers more than 1,800 business, management, and public policy and administration journals providing citations, abstracts, and some full text. Users can search the database in a number of ways including author, subject, and title, and limit their search to full text articles and scholarly publications. Users can also browse issues of periodicals that are included full text.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowWith domestic and international sources, Business Source Premier provides citations, abstracts, and full text articles from business and public policy and administration journals, magazines, and scholarly journals.
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowEconLit, the American Economic Association’s electronic database, is the foremost source of references to economic literature. The database contains records from 1969-present and covers virtually every area related to economics.
Related Resources
National Criminal Justice Reference Service abstracts database
Over 150,000 summaries of books & reports, journal articles, program descriptions, and evaluations maintained by the National Institute of Justice's National Criminal Justice Reference Service. Includes U.S. material and selected international publications, in English. Topics include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victims of crime.
Social Services Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts current research (articles are from 1980 to the present) in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Major areas of coverage include community and mental health services; crisis intervention; evaluation research; the family and social welfare; gerontology; policy, planning and forecasting; poverty and homelessness; professional issues in social work; social development; social work education; support groups/networks; violence, abuse and neglect; and welfare services.
Urban Studies Abstracts
Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
Using These Resources
The resources to the right can be used to search for articles in this subject.
Looking for Full Text?
The databases to the right will often provide links to HTML or PDF copies of the articles they cite. However, there will be times when full text will not be available. In those cases, click on the 
button. This will search through the library's other databases to see if full text is available through another resource.
If full text is not available online, search in NUsearch, the library's online catalog, for the name of the journal where the article was printed to see if the library has a print subscription. If the library has a print subscription of the journal, you can request a copy of the article you need here.
What Do I Use NUsearch For?
NUsearch
NUsearch is the library's online catalog that can help you find items held by all the Northwestern libraries including online journal subscriptions.
