Your Librarian
Jeannette Moss
Contact:
University Library
2 North (Core) Rm. 2303
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
2 North (Core) Rm. 2303
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
847-491-2169
Access to the Libraries and Library Materials
The Updates to Library Services page provides regular updates on resources and services. This website includes information on:
- Access to physical library collections
- Scanning and book delivery
- Interlibrary loan
- Non-circulating materials and special collections
NU Libraries Primer: Welcome to Your Library (video)
- Information on remotely accessing the Libraries, finding resources, and getting help
Need research help? Visit ASK US Email library@northwestern.edu or contact a subject specialist.
Background Sources
Background research sources, often called tertiary sources, summarize, digest or synthesize information from primary and secondary sources. Encyclopedias, handbooks, and biographical dictionaries may be tertiary sources.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Music Online includes The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, as well as Grove Music Online, the cornerstone of Oxford's online music reference collection.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of several hundred subject encyclopedias and other reference works across all subject areas, but with particular strengths in the social sciences and humanities. It includes a number of major reference works, and is Northwesterns largest single collection of reference materials. A good source for authoritative background information.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowOnline version of many Oxford University Press reference works, ranging from specialized dictionaries and companions to major reference works such as the Encyclopedia of Human Rights, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States, and the Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History, among many others.