Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Please contact our subject librarians about resources needed to support remote learning and work at Northwestern.
Colonial Law in Africa--British Online Archives
Originally known as the 'Government Gazettes', each item contains the colonial laws for the year they were published. The legal records also include property for sale, probate records and bankruptcy notices. This is the second part of the three part series 'Colonial Law in Africa'. These records cover the transfer of Southern Rhodesia from the British South Africa Company to colonial rule. A series of legal notices also reveal the impact of the Treaty of Versailles on Tanzania. The Second World War then led to a series of new laws in these colonies. These gazettes were published alongside the African Blue Books of Statistics during the 19th and 20th centuries.
Directory of Open Access Books
DOAB aggregates records for Open Access Books so libraries can integrate the directory into their online catalogues, helping scholars and students to discover the books.
Elsevier Novel Coronavirus Center
In Elsevier's Novel Coronavirus Information Center, you will find expert, curated information for the research and health community on SARS-CoV-2 (the novel coronavirus) and COVID-19 (the disease). All resources are free to access and include guidelines for clinicians and patients.
Hathi Trust Emergency Access
Northwestern has received temporary emergency access for materials held in Hathi that are also held physically in Northwestern Libraries. More information on emergency access can he found at https://www.hathitrust.org/ETAS-User-Information
. Document or page downloading is not allowed.
Internet Archive National Emergency Library
1.4 million (and growing) books in lending library.
JSTOR Expanded Access to Ebooks
JSTOR offers temporary free access to a set of 38,000 ebooks to support the sudden shift to remote teaching and learning, as well as a lack of access to the physical stacks of books. Through August 31, 2020; more than 32,000 titles from 48 publishers are included.
JSTOR Full Archive Expanded Access Program
JSTOR expanded Northwestern's access for all eligible programs. This access is active through December 31, 2020. The content includes additional journals and primary source collections beyond the ones already subscribe to.
Access to Global Collection of Newspapers which includes over 3 billion digitized articles and photos.
Project MUSE Free Book
Free books through Project Muse.
Project MUSE Free Journals
Free journals through Project Muse
ProQuest eBook Collection
Free unlimited access to all owned titles from a growing list of 150 publishers through June 30, providing access to more than 900,000 titles from 1,700 imprints
ProQuest Individual Literature Collections
33 individual literature collections across Alexander Street and Chadwyck-Healey available on the ProQuest platform. Once you are on the ProQuest website, Please scroll down to FAQ to see new URL links
Unfortunately the RedShelf free access program is not available to Northwestern users; but you can purchase or rent textbooks on its website.
Please note: The guide is for information only; the Northwestern Libraries do not have the ability to set or influence the terms and conditions of these free-access offers.