Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Please contact our subject librarians about resources needed to support remote learning and work at Northwestern.
Sources related to Covid-19
American Academy of Pediatrics
AAP is fast-tracking and publishing the latest research and articles related to COVID-19 for free.
American Association of Advancement of Science (AAAS) - Science Journals
The journal has accelerated its publishing practices governing the release of research papers on coronavirus and urged scientists to post their submitted studies on preprint sites.
ASTM has made over 20 of their standards OA that relate to medical masks, gowns, gloves, hand sanitizers, and other PPE and medical equipment.
In collaboration with the Association of Research Libraries, BioOne and their publishers have made a
rticles related to coronavirus in the following journals available via open access through 2020.
BMJ (British Medical Journal)
BMJ has made materials on Covid-19 from across BMJ's jouranls and learning resources freely available.
Brill COVID-19 and coronavirus-related publications
Books and articles on topics such as public health, distance learning, crisis research.
Cambridge University Press
Cambridge University Press has made resources related to Covid-19 available in their Coronavirus Free Access Collection.
Clarivate has made resources related to Covid-19 including access to Cortellis Drug Discovery and Coretllis Generics Intelligence available.
Elsevier's Novel Coronavirus Information Center includes access to material from the Lancet and Cell Press as well as 20,000 articles from Science Direct.
JAMA Network COVID-19 collection
The JAMA Network COVID-19 collection below, includes Q&A's with NIAID's Anthony Fauci, an interactive map of the outbreak courtesy of The Johns Hopkins Center for Systems Science and Engineering, and past publications on vaccine development, infection control, and public health preparedness.
JSTOR Public Health Jouranls (through December 31, 2020)
This collection represents a new set of 26 journal archives in Public Health, making them openly accessible through June 30, 2020.
Free access to all of Lancet content on the novel coronavirus disease (COVID-19).
New England Journal of Medicine
A collection of articles and other resources on the Coronavirus (Covid-19) outbreak, including clinical reports, management guidelines, and commentary.
Oxford University Press
Oxford is providing content related to Covid-19 from its online resources and journals freely accessible.
ProQuest Coronavirus Research Database
This database provides comprehensive coverage of COVID-19 and other past coronavirus outbreaks, such as MERS and SARS, for context around the current global pandemic.
Sage has made a collection of journal articles related to Covid-19 freely available.
Springer has made a collection of journal articles related to Covid-19 freely available.
SSRN has provided a Coronavirus and Infectious Disease Research page that provides links to freely available material.
Wiley is providing free access to more than 5,000 relevant journal articles, book chapters and entries in our major reference works.
Free access to research content.on COVID-19.
Please note: The guide is for information only; the Northwestern Libraries do not have the ability to set or influence the terms and conditions of these free-access offers.