Features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. These rare documents, many of them never before available, were sourced from the British Library and other renowned institutions, and curated by experts in British arts history.

A unique archive of almost every play submitted for license between 1737 and 1824, and hundreds of documents that provide social context for the plays, featuring: John Larpent Collection of Plays from the Huntington Library; Supplementary documents including Anna Larpent Diaries; The London Stage, 1660-1800; A Biographical Dictionary of Actors, Actresses, Musicians, Dancers, Managers and Other Stage Personnel in London, 1660-1800.

Provides access to 67,754 scanned items (a total of 174,196 images), including more than 20,700 pieces of theatrical and non-theatrical ephemera from the nineteenth-century entertainment category. Other materials include items from the Booktrade, Popular Prints, Crimes, Murders and Executions, and Advertising

Documents the performance and construction history of the new Globe and the indoor theatre space of the Sam Wanamaker Playhouse. The material in this archive will be essential to any students or researchers interested in Shakespeare in performance, theatre history, early-modern theatre and the cultural history of Shakespeare.

Showcases rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library, which tell the story of Shakespeares plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.

A portal comprised of four modules, inviting users into the darkened halls, small backrooms, big tops and travelling venues that hosted everything from spectacular shows and bawdy burlesque, to the world of magic, spiritualist séances, optical entertainments and the first moving pictures.

The premier, authoritative resource of American film information, covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1993 with full or short records for films from 1994 to 2015. Every film produced on American soil or by American production companies is indexed from the birth of cinema to the present day. New records are created by the AFI editorial team and added each year.

A yearbook of Shakespeare studies and production. Since 1948 Survey has published the best international scholarship in English and many of its essays have become classics of Shakespeare criticism. Each volume is devoted to a theme, or play, or group of plays; each also contains a section of reviews of that year's textual and critical studies, and of the year's major British performances.

Provides annotated entries for books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published since 1966.

Provides access to the enormous range of periodical literature published in Great Britain 1800-1900 of interest to historians and students of nineteenth-century literature and culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, the creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine, and the professions.

Full text database of American periodicals that began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many more. For those periodicals that continued to publish after 1900, coverage is extended well into the 20th century.

This resource provides online access to 400 British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century. Subject areas covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences. All titles are full text searchable and contain high-resolution facsimile page images.

Contains primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles.

A digital image library that provides over 1.6 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences from around the globe and across time periods. Included are images from international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.

Provides access to the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, e-books, e-journals, a museum directory, reference works, images, foundational works on fashion across the globe, since 1600.The database is updated 3 times a year. A specially-created taxonomy allows users to refine by place, period, themes, textiles and more.

A comprehensive, searchable archive of every page, advertisement, and cover of every issue of Harper’s Bazaar from its first appearance in 1867 to the current month.

Modern theatrical lighting is a unique art form, whose history until now has been exceedingly difficult to study due to limited access to original lighting documents. The Lighting Archive website is developing a collection of actual plots, focus charts, cue sheets from real shows. We will place an emphasis on historical productions and designers who have made important contributions to our field.

5,000 high-quality scanned images of costume and set designs from the Motley Collection at University of Illinois. The Motley group designed sets and costumes from 1932 to 1976 for plays by Shakespeare and modern classics, opera, ballet, and motion pictures. Their designs were used in productions in the West End of London, the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, the English National Opera, and in the United States on Broadway.

The first comprehensive, international collection that covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, and makeup. Bringing together essential books and periodicals, archival material, and specially commissioned instructional videos, the collection will cover design concepts for a broad range of performance types, including dance, theatre, opera, and music.

Contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (U.S. edition), from 1892 to the current issue. All content, including covers, images, fold-outs,and advertisements, is fully searchable and updated monthly.

A comprehensive archive of Womens Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to material from within the last twelve months, reproduced in high-resolution images. Every page, article, advertisement and cover has been included, with searchable text and indexing.