Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Herskovits Library Search
The Herskovits Library's collection includes photographs, maps, posters, videos, books in African languages, archival materials and manuscripts, as well as art objects, ephemeral materials and other artifacts, many of which are digitally accessible.
Resources in the Herskovits Library
Apartheid South Africa 1948-1980
Apartheid South Africa makes available British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices spanning the period 1948 to 1980.
Confidential Print. Africa, 1834-1966
The Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government 1820-1970, is a fundamental building block for political, social and economic research. Confidential Print: Africa covers coastal trading in the early 19th century and the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa. They follow the abuses of the Congo Free State, fights against tropical disease, Italys defeat by the Abyssinians, World War II, apartheid in South Africa and moves towards independence.
Sabinet Online provides a searchable collection of full-text electronic journals on one platform which focuses on information originating from or pertaining to Africa.
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa brings together materials from various archives and libraries throughout the world documenting colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and the worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region.
African Activist Archive
The African Activist Archive is preserving and making available online the records of activism in the United States to support the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s.
DISA: Digital Innovation South Africa
A freely accessible online scholarly resource focusing on the socio-political history of South Africa, particularly the struggle for freedom during the period from 1950 to the first democratic elections in 1994.
A website that showcases articles written by thought leaders about the Mandela legacy, the 100 young Mandelas of the future and lessons South Africans learnt from Tata Madiba
International Journalism Course: South Africa
The library currently receives the following newspapers in hard copy, in addition to online access:
- City Press
- Chronic Chimurenga
- Mail & Guardian
- Southern Cross
Use the catalog (NUsearch) for online access and for information on hardcopy locations of the newspapers, and for locating other resources on South Africa. Additionally, search in other databases listed below.
Access World News
Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Access World News is updated daily. This database combines news articles from more than 12,000 sources and over 200 countries. Much of the material in non-English languages has been translated into English, but a significant amount of material is presented in the original language.
Contains over a million articles from 100 news publications throughout Africa and from several hundred other sources, including governments, non-governmental organizations and other newsmakers, inside and outside of Africa.
Combining the content of Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts, this comprehensive resource offers content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields. Coverage goes back to 1915.
Online access to hundreds of newspapers from more than 90 countries, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.
Exploring South Africa through its Contemporary Literature
Johannesburg, the African City
A collaboration between Northwestern University Libraries and Evanston Township High School, the goal is to provide students with a greater contextual understanding of contemporary South African literature through a combination of discovery, conversation, research, and interactive experience.
Florence Mugambi, African Studies Librarian | firstname.lastname@example.org
Herskovits Library | email@example.com