Soul Beauty: Religion and Black Expressive Cultures
Companion guide for Religion 374/ African American Studies 380 course which "examines how religion becomes the source language and practices for Black artists to express what it means to be Black in the Americas".
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper.
Search example: Zora Neale Hurston gives results grouped under several categories - journals, historical newspapers, essays, video and images, reference, etc.
The finding aids in this database describe archival and manuscript materials held by various Northwestern University libraries. Information regarding content, historical context, creation and arrangement of a collection can be found in these finding aids, though the depth of detail varies by individual collection. Some collections may have restrictions on access; these are noted in the finding aid.
Lorenzo Dow Turner Papers - spanning the years 1915-197, they document Turner's extensive educational training, teaching career, linguistic research, and the revolutionary theories on black speech development in America that he pioneered.
Katherine Flowers Papers - reflect a life dedicated to the art of dance, particularly African-American dance. They document Flowers' long career as a dancer, choreographer, and teacher.
Digitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.