A comprehensive bibliographic resource for information about Mexican-American topics. It identifies, in one place, all types of material about Chicanos and provides uniform subject access to this constantly growing body of literature. Incorporates the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, a comprehensive resource covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature. Also includes the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.

Provides citations to articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.-Mexico border, and Hispanics in the U.S. Covers 1970-present.

The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.

The African Studies Companion Online brings together a wide range of sources of information in the African studies field covering both print and electronic resources. Listings identify primarily general, multidisciplinary sources of information, for the most part those in English and relating to sub-Saharan Africa. These include websites, databases, reference sources, periodicals, library collections, and more.

America Latina en Video [Latin America in Video] includes 400 original-language documentaries—over 300 hours in all—from some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. The videos were produced in Latin America, by Latin Americans, about Latin American issues, such as human rights, violence, immigration, illiteracy, popular culture, and political history.

This important collection of papers spans the majority of twentieth-century American social history and politics, focusing on civil rights, civil liberties, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court.

This unique manuscript collection offers digital access to the papers of the Southern Regional Office of the American Civil Liberties Union, primarily in the period 1945 to 1990. The collection covers topics including school segregation; local challenges to busing; the suppression of voting rights; student anti-war protest; and legal cases relating to women, sexism, and overtime pay.

The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.

Library has access to parts 1 through 6.

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection draws its content from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project, the largest national project ever to locate, preserve, and disseminate Latino-Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form, from colonial times to 1960.

Combining the content of Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts, this comprehensive resource offers content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields. Coverage goes back to 1915.

Education Abstracts brings you comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Covers 1983-present.

Database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature, including pedagogy, counseling and psychology. Covers 1966-present.

Ethnic American Newspapers offers extensive coverage of many of the most influential ethnic groups in U.S. history. It enables the study of often-overlooked aspects of the nation's history, politics and culture, covering immigrant contributions to U.S. business, music, science, wars and more.

Ethnic NewsWatch indexes newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press, offering both national and regional coverage. Ethnic NewsWatch presents multi-ethnic and multi-cultural publications in one resource covering 1959-present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.

Search the Herskovits Library's collections of all Africana materials, which includes photographs, maps, posters, videos, books in African languages, archival materials and manuscripts, as well as art objects, ephemeral materials and other artifacts, many of which are digitally accessible.

A compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.

From the earliest days of the colonial era through modern times, people of Spanish-speaking heritage have shaped the geography, arts, culture, and civil discourse of the United States in immeasurable ways. This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of Hispanic American history, culture, and daily life – as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of Hispanic descent. The content in HLA is sourced from more than 17,000 American and global news sources, including over 700 Spanish-language or bilingual publications. Coverage from the early 18th century to the early 21st – from the early Spanish settlements to the modern era. - Publisher

The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.

History Makers is the largest African American oral video history archive in the world. Provides access to over 61,221 stories from oral history interviews with 1,195 historically significant African Americans are currently available.

This database allows users to trace the history of Native Peoples in North America from colonial relations in the 1600s to twentieth-century issues such as civil rights. Includes manuscript collections, rare books and monographs, newspapers, periodicals, census records, legal documents, maps, drawings and sketches, oral histories, and photos, as well as video content from the Bureau of Indian Affairs.

Indigenous Peoples of North America, Part I: Provides users with a robust, diverse, informative source that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of indigenous peoples in the United States and Canada. Researchers will explore the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more. These are the primary sources that take students beyond the facts and figures of history and into a deeper understanding of indigenous peoples.

Indigenous Peoples of North America, Part II: The Indian Rights Association, 1882–1986 provides a near complete record of the efforts of the first organization to address Native American interests and rights. This collection includes the contains incoming and outgoing correspondence; organizational records; printed material (including early pamphlets and publications both by the Indian Rights Association and other American Indian and Indian-related organizations); Indian Rights Association annual reports; draft legislation; administrative files, the papers of Indian Rights Association founder Herbert Welsh, photographs (often from Western field trips), materials from the Council on Indian Affairs, and manuscripts and research notes regarding social and cultural Indian traditions.

A bibliogrpahy paremiological and phraseological publications spanning the past 200 years. Covers the 10,000 publications that are part of the International Proverb Archives and every bibliographical reference is followed by one to three lines of alphabetically arranged key-words (names, subjects, titles, and texts of individual proverbs and phrases).

A full-text database focusing on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. Features more than 150 titles, 1500 images, hundreds of primary documents, Spanish-language content, a timeline, and 225 vetted Web sites.

Latino Literature brings together more than 100,000 pages pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States. Among the collection are nearly 800 items (poems, novels, and plays) that have never been published before.

Compiled by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography lists articles and books in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics in the modern languages, as well as folklore, film studies, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and historical aspects of printing and publishing.

Music Magazine Archive is a series of digital collections focused on 20th and 21st century genres such as Rock, Folk, and Hip-Hop & Rap. Each genre-based collection unites every page and every issue of a diverse and influential group of magazines.

Contains peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Latino studies and the Hispanic minority in the United States. Introductory essay provides a review of current research trends and issues. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

Platino Educa is a film platform providing access to hundreds of Spanish and Ibero-American movies, classified by subjects and covering themes across the Environment, Social Studies, Language and Literature, Arts, and Social Justice. The selection of audiovisual works and the elaboration of the pedagogical material that Platino EDUCA offers are developed in collaboration with renowned institutions in the field of cinema and education.

With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T offers comprehensive listings for U.S. doctoral dissertations back to 1861, with extensive coverage of dissertations from many non-U.S. institutions. A number of masters theses are also listed. Thousands of dissertations are available full text, and abstracts are included for dissertations from the mid-1980s forward.

The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century consists of four modules: two modules of Federal Government Records, and two modules of Organizational Records and Personal Papers, offering unique documentation and a variety of perspectives on the 20th century fight for freedom.

Northwestern University Library's subscription covers NAACP Papers: Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files; NAACP Papers: Special Subjects; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses.

Slavery and the Law features petitions on race, slavery, and free blacks that were submitted to state legislatures and county courthouses between 1775 and 1867, documenting the realities of slavery at the most immediate local level and with amazing candor.

This resource provides access to a wealth of documents highlighting different responses to the challenges of overcoming prejudice, segregation and racial tensions, including survey material, interviews and statistics, educational pamphlets, administrative correspondence, photographs and speeches from the Annual Race Relations Institutes during the 1940s, 50s and 60s.

Indexes articles published in the most important popular magazines published in the United States from 1890 until 1982.Provides some links to full text. A key resource for identifying what was published in the popular press during this era.

Sociological Abstracts provides citations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Content coverage includes culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, race and ethnicity, social change and economic development, and more. 1952-Present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.

Provides access to legal briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978.

The first ever scholarly, primary source database focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels.Contains selected primary materials (the comics themselves), as well as interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism. Covers 1960's-present.

Provides citations covering areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Covers1973-present.

Search the Vanderbilt Television News Archive of network television news programs and other news-related programming recorded since August 5, 1968. Streaming video of NBC and CNN content is available. The Archive makes all the items in its collection available to the public through a loan service. See a librarian for more information.

World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean brings together a rich collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean, including academic journals, news-feeds, reference articles and commentary, maps, statistics, audio and video, and much more. The database covers topics such as politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology of the region, presented on a country and continent level.