Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journals and Databases
International Journal of Advanced Robotic Systems
International Journal of Advanced Robotic Systems (IJARS) is a JCR ranked, peer-reviewed open access journal covering the full spectrum of robotics research. The journal is addressed to both practicing professionals and researchers in the field of robotics and its specialty areas. IJARS features fourteen topic areas each headed by a Topic Editor-in-Chief, integrating all aspects of research in robotics under the journal's domain.
Robotics and Biomimetics
Robotics and Biomimetics provides a platform for scholars to publish first-class original research work on robotics and biomimetics. Robotics, traditionally an interdisciplinary area of engineering disciplines, has been growing rapidly since the 1970s. In recent years, biological science has brought new breakthroughs in robotic science and technology.
Paladyn, Journal of Behavioral Robotics
Paladyn. Journal of Behavioral Robotics is a fully peer-reviewed, electronic-only journal that publishes original, high-quality research on topics broadly related to neuronally and psychologically inspired robots and other behaving autonomous systems. The aim of Paladyn is to become a premier source of knowledge and a worldwide-recognized platform of exchange for scientists of different disciplinary origins and backgrounds who are inspired by the analogy between robotic autonomy and human behavior.
Unmanned Systems and Robotics Database
AUVSI’s Unmanned Systems and Robotics Database is the largest comprehensive and searchable database of all unmanned vehicles and robotic products operating in the air, ground and maritime domains. Up-to-date, detailed information on unmanned vehicles and robotic products.
Inspec, created by the IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers), is the leading bibliographic database providing abstracts and indexing to the world's scientific and technical papers in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing and production engineering. Search both Insepc & Inspec Archive. Coverage: 1898-current.
Evolutionary Robotics by
Call Number: Mudd Library Stacks 629.892 N791e
Publication Date: 2000-11-13
Evolutionary robotics is a new technqiue for the automatic creation of autonomous robots. Inspired by the Darwinian principle of selective reproduction of the fittest, it views robots as autonomous artificial organisms that develop their own skills in close interaction with the environment and without human intervention. Drawing heavily on biology and ethology, it uses the tools of neural networks, genetic algorithms, dynamic systems and biomorphic engineering. The resulting robots share with simple biological systems the characteristics of robustness, simplicity, small size, flexibility and modularity.
Self-Reconfigurable Robots by
Call Number: Mudd Library Stacks 629.892 S893s
Publication Date: 2010-01-29
A comprehensive survey of the growing field of self-reconfigurable robots that discusses the history of the field, design considerations, and control strategies. Self-reconfigurable robots are constructed of robotic modules that can be connected in many different ways. These modules move in relationship to each other, which allows the robot as a whole to change shape. This shapeshifting makes it possible for the robots to adapt and optimize their shapes for different tasks. Thus, a self-reconfigurable robot can first assume the shape of a rolling track to cover distance quickly, then the shape of a snake to explore a narrow space, and finally the shape of a hexapod to carry an artifact back to the starting point. The field of self-reconfigurable robots has seen significant progress over the last twenty years, and this book collects and synthesizes existing research previously only available in widely scattered individual papers, offering an accessible guide to the latest information on self-reconfigurable robots for researchers and students interested in the field.
Climbing and Walking Robots by
Call Number: Mudd Library Stacks 629.892 I613 2005c
Publication Date: 2006-01-25
The interest in climbing and walking robots (CLAWAR) has intensified in recent years, and novel solutions for complex and very diverse applications have been anticipated by means of significant progress in this area of - botics. Moreover, the amalgamation of original ideas and related inno- tions, search for new potential applications and the use of state of the art support technologies permit to foresee an important step forward and a significant socio-economic impact of advanced robot technology in the - ture. This is leading to the creation and consolidation of a mobile service robotics sector where most of the robotics activities are foreseen in the - ture. The technology is now maturing to become of real benefit to society and methods of realizing this potential quickly are being eagerly explored. Robot standards and modularity are key to this and form key components of the research presented here.
Robot Builder's Bonanza by
Call Number: Mudd Library Stacks 629.892 M129r 2001
Publication Date: 2000-09-21
Dealing with amateur robotics building, this book contains the servo motor technology, microcontrolled robots, remote control, Lego Mindstorms Kits, and other commercial kits. It provides coverage of Robotix-based Robots, Lego Technic-based Robots, Functionoids with Lego Mindstorms, and Location and Motorized Systems with Servo Motors.