Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journals and Databases
Distributed Generation & Alternative Energy Journal
This authoritative quarterly publication provides professional readers with the detailed information they need on the latest innovations and developments in the distributed generation and related alternative energy fields. Each issue includes original articles covering engineering design and analysis, operation and maintenance, management, economics, strategy, and policy approaches to distributed generation, cogeneration, district heating and cooling, as well as combined heat and power (CHP).
The home of cutting-edge research on the development of alternative sustainable technologies.
Journal of Renewable and Sustainable Energy
The Journal of Renewable and Sustainable Energy (JRSE) is an interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal covering all areas of renewable and sustainable energy relevant to the physical science and engineering communities. The interdisciplinary approach of the publication ensures that the editors draw from researchers worldwide in a diverse range of fields.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies
Online resource that focuses on the academic study of sustainability and the environment. Offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and environmental and sustainability issues in such categories as energy systems, healthcare, agriculture, transportation, economics, and ecology. Includes news, video, primary source documents, interactive maps, contextual multimedia, customizable journals, and news and refereed case studies.
GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
Environmental Engineering Abstracts
This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on all technological and engineering aspects of air, water and soil quality, environmental safety, sustainability and energy production.
Wind Energy Conversion Systems by
Call Number: online access
Publication Date: 2012-01-05
Wind Energy Conversion System covers the technological progress of wind energy conversion systems, along with potential future trends. It includes recently developed wind energy conversion systems such as multi-converter operation of variable-speed wind generators, lightning protection schemes, voltage flicker mitigation and prediction schemes for advanced control of wind generators. Modeling and control strategies of variable speed wind generators are discussed, together with the frequency converter topologies suitable for grid integration. Wind Energy Conversion System also describes offshore farm technologies including multi-terminal topology and space-based wind observation schemes, as well as both AC and DC based wind farm topologies.
Alternative Energy by
Call Number: Main Library Stacks Large 333.794 B511a
Publication Date: 2001-06-30
Rising gas and utility prices, to say nothing of growing concerns about global warming, are fueling increased interest in alternative energy. Finding comprehensive information on this popular topic can be tough. Written for the layperson, this book is a one-stop source of information about alternative energy forms, in a world that needs it more than ever. Environmentally conscious individuals will find the most up-to-date information in this new annual summary. Important facts about companies and universities conducting research in alternative energy areas, government research subsidies, statistics on global use of alternative energy systems, and production of ethanol and hybrid fuels are included. Cost comparisons and a valuable appendix with sources for further study complete this encompassing energy reference.
Solar Energy Engineering by
Call Number: online access
Publication Date: 2009-06-23
As perhaps the most promising of all the renewable energy sources available today, solar energy is becoming increasingly important in the drive to achieve energy independence and climate balance. This new book is the masterwork from world-renowned expert Dr. Soteris Kalogirou, who has championed solar energy for decades. The book includes all areas of solar energy engineering, from the fundamentals to the highest level of current research. The author includes pivotal subjects such as solar collectors, solar water heating, solar space heating and cooling, industrial process heat, solar desalination, photovoltaics, solar thermal power systems, and modeling of solar systems, including the use of artificial intelligence systems in solar energy systems, modeling and performance prediction. *Written by one of the world's most renowned experts in solar energy *Covers the hottest new developments in solar technology, such as solar cooling and desalination *Packed with quick look up tables and schematic diagrams for the most commonly used systems today'
Geothermal Energy by
Call Number: online access
Publication Date: 2013-12-03
The internal heat of the planet Earth represents an inexhaustible reservoir of thermal energy. This form of energy, known as geothermal energy, has been utilized throughout human history in the form of hot water from hot springs. Modern utilization of geothermal energy includes direct use of the heat and its conversion to other forms of energy, mainly electricity. Geothermal energy is a form of renewable energy and its use is associated with very little or no CO2-emissions and its importance as an energy source has greatly increased as the effects of climate change become more prominent. Because of its inexhaustibility it is obvious that utilization of geothermal energy will become a cornerstone of future energy supplies.The exploration of geothermal resources has become an important topic of study as geology and earth science students prepare to meet the demands of a rapidly growing industry, which involves an increasing number professionals and public institutions participating in geothermal energy related projects.