Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Language learning resources
Beyond course textbooks and literature in different languages (our library has books in hundreds of languages!) the library also offers access to films, music, and news, and through Evanston Public Library, you can also get access to other language learning resources. There are also a number of free applications or programs you can download to learn a new language.
Open Textbook Library
There are also language textbooks available through the Open Textbook Network, which promotes access, affordability, and student success through the use of open textbooks.
Languages at Northwestern
Everything You Need To Know...
About Learning Languages at Northwestern (2017-2018)
Events sponsored by the Forum for Languages and Cultures at Buffett Institute, including monthly Language Tables.
Resources at Evanston Public Library
Mango Languages at Evanston Public Library
Are you planning a trip abroad? Will you need to learn some key phrases in a new language? Do you need to brush up in a language you’ve already studied? Mango Languages can help. Use your Evanston Public Library card to access Mango from home, or on the go. Call the EPL Reference Desk for help, or for more information, at 847-448-8630.
Search EPL Catalog
Search the EPL Catalog for language and travel guides.
You can request language learning books from other academic institutions using Interlibrary Loan. Search for books at WorldCat. Note that electronic books are not requestable. Be sure to indicate that you will accept the book in a language other than English.
The turnaround time for interlibrary loan is 3-4 days for items from other libraries in the Big Ten Academic Alliance, and 7-10 days for items from other academic institutions .
Free websites and apps
Language courses for over twenty languages in an app for iOS, Android, and Windows phone.
Fodor's Travel Phrases
For iOS with in-app purchase options for Italian, French, Spanish, German, Japanese, etc. - or all 22 languages they offer.
Living Language free downloads
Handy phrasebooks with over 1,500 essential words and phrases and quick reference guides.
Public Domain Courses
Links to public domain foreign language courses developed by the Foreign Service Institute, Defense Language Institute, and the Peace Corps.
News, film, and music databases at Northwestern
New World Cinema: Independent Features & Shorts, 1990-present This link opens in a new window
The collection includes over 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and Global Lens.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Online access to hundreds of newspapers from more than 90 countries, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Access World News is updated daily. This database combines news articles from more than 12,000 sources and over 200 countries. Much of the material in non-English languages has been translated into English, but a significant amount of material is presented in the original language.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window
Smithsonian Global Sound is a network of international cultural institutions working to preserve and distribute music from archives worldwide, and to foster appreciation for traditional roots music. Through its Web site, Global Sound will offer audio and video downloads, streaming media, educational resources, and detailed liner notes to music lovers, students, historians, teachers, and the academic community.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
For access to Naxos Music Library via mobile app, click here
Naxos Music Library (NML) is the world's largest online classical music library. The library offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining every month. Among the labels whose catalogs are included in the service are leading independent classical labels such as BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX, and of course Naxos. World music content is provided by ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others.
Collins Spanish Unabridged Dictionary by
Publication Date: 2009-07-14
The Collins Spanish Unabridged Dictionary gives you comprehensive coverage of both Spanish and English and the most up-to-date business, political, and Internet terms. Includes a clear, helpful layout.
Language and Literature Research Guides