Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journals and Databases
History of Science in South Asia
HSSA publishes high-quality academic research in the history of science, with a focus on South Asia. We take “South Asia” as an inclusive, non-political, socio-geographic term referring to the area from Afghanistan to Sri Lanka, from Pakistan to Bangladesh, and of course India. Research on the influences of South Asian cultures beyond these borders is also welcome
Since its inception in 1912, Isis has featured scholarly articles, research notes and commentary on the history of science, medicine, and technology, and their cultural influences. Review essays and book reviews on new publications in the field are also included. An official publication of the History of Science Society, this is the oldest (and most widely circulating) English-language journal in the field.
PhilSci-Archive, an electronic archive specifically tailored to and run by philosophers of science. The archive is offered as a free service to the philosophy of science community. Its goal is to promote communication in the field by the rapid dissemination of new work. We aim to provide a stable, openly accessible repository in which scholarly articles and monographs may find a permanent home.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
Integrates four bibliographies to create the definitive international database for the history of science, technology, and medicine. It reflects the influences of these fields on society and culture from prehistory to the present and offers outstanding value for interdisciplinary research.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books.Powerful tools allow you to search and see what articles in the database have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
Cracking the Sky by
Call Number: Herskovits Library of African Studies - 5 South 621.4356 P968c
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
This is the account of a young boy's dream to launch a rocket into the air which eventually led to the making of history in South Africa. The author has attempted to relate the events of those early years up to the time when he was prohibited from further research in the field of rocket science. In his quest to send rockets higher plus the emphasis on safety, he formed the South African Rocket Research Group. This band of dedicated amateurs accomplished many firsts in South Africa but not without incurring the attention of the authorities This attention finally led to the end of the dream that lasted 14 years and saw the launching of 528 rockets. The intervening years have not dimmed the vision of the fiery take-offs and majestic rise from earth as those vehicles endeavoured to crack the sky. This is the story of the start of rocket science in South Africa and it cannot be glossed over as this means of propulsion has humankind reaching for the stars today.
Looking at It from Asia by
Call Number: online access
Publication Date: 2010-06-16
How do Documents Become Sources? Perspectives from Asia and Science Florence Bretelle-Establet From Documents to Sources in Historiography The present volume develops a specific type of critical analysis of the written documents that have become historians' sources. For reasons that will be explained later, the history of science in Asia has been taken as a framework. However, the issue addressed is general in scope. It emerged from reflections on a problem that may seem common to historians: why, among the huge mass of written documents available to historians, some have been well studied while others have been dismissed or ignored? The question of historical sources and their (unequal) use in historiography is not new. Which documents have been used and favored as historical sources by historians has been a key historiographical issue that has occupied a large space in the historical production of the last four decades, in France at least.
A Cultural History of Modern Science in China by
Call Number: online access
Publication Date: 2006-10-01
Historians of science and Sinologists have long needed a unified narrative to describe the Chinese development of modern science, medicine, and technology since 1600. They welcomed the appearance in 2005 of Benjamin Elman's masterwork, On Their Own Terms. Now Elman has retold the story of the Jesuit impact on late imperial China, circa 1600-1800, and the Protestant era in early modern China from the 1840s to 1900 in a concise and accessible form ideal for the classroom. This coherent account of the emergence of modern science in China places that emergence in historical context for both general students of modern science and specialists of China.
Dictionary of Scientific Biography by
Call Number: online access
Publication Date: 2008
This standard reference source contains more than 5,000 biographies of mathematicians and natural scientists from all countries and from all historical periods. It presents an accurate and reliable narrative of the development of science, not as a mere accumulation of technical information but as the collective accomplishment that has ordered our understanding of nature.