An extensive collection of early astronomical works, including rare books and early astronomical instruments.

Argonne Research Library supports the scientific and technical research of Argonne staff. The library is not open to the public, but their catalog is available at http://www.library.anl.gov/ Items are available via interlibrary loan.

One of the largest art museum libraries in the United States; extensive collections in the history of art and architecture.

Includes links to EThOS (U.K), DART-Europe, and the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations. CRL holds c. 800,000 foreign dissertations.

Use of Collections information
Library Catalogue

Houses books and periodicals on botany, gardening, landscaping, and related subjects. Includes an extensive collection of nursery catalogs, slides, and a rare book collection. One part of the library, the Lenhardt Plant Science Library, housing scientific books and periodicals, is not open to the public.

Extensive collections on the history of Chicago, including both published and archival materials. For more information, including information on access and hours, explore the web site noted above. The Museum's Research Center's URL is http://www.chicagohistory.org/research/aboutcollection, and includes a description of the collections.

CPL Special Collections has exceptional areas of strength, especially in the history of Chicago, including theatre history, World's Fairs of 1893 and 1933-34, the history of Chicago neighborhoods, and materials on Chicago authors, as well as rare books and archives. Another area of specialization is the American Civil War. CPL also houses the Harold Washington Archives & Collections. A full list of CPL's archival holdings is available. Also of interest is the Municipal Reference Library, a major resource for information about Chicago, including official documents, policy reports, and extensive newspaper clippings files.

The museum's mission is to promote understanding and inspire appreciation of the achievements, contributions, and experiences of African Americans through exhibits, programs, and activities that illustrate African and African American history, culture and art. Call to inquire about research collections.

The library is open Monday through Friday from 8:30 AM – 12:00 PM and 12:30 PM - 3 PM, excluding federal holidays. The library is periodically closed at other times.
Public: Please call ahead to ensure the librarian is available.

Supports high energy physics research. Open to the public by appointment. Access information and a link to their catalog.
Also of interest: Fermilab History and Archives

Originally formed from materials garnered from the World Columbian Exposition in 1893, the library has an extensive collection of works in natural history, anthropology, and archaeology, as well as an extensive photo archive. Check website for special closings and other details.

The Gerber/ Hart Library is a library for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender resources; the special collections (open by appointment only) include a remarkable collection of pre-Stonewall periodicals and literature, periodicals and newsletters from around the world, and erotica.

Writing, art, and video materials related to the leather and BDSM movement.
Access limited to those 18 years of age or older

Houses books and periodicals on botany, forestry, landscaping, natural history, and related subjects. Includes an extensive collection of nursery catalogs, art work, and a rare book collection. Notable collection of landscape drawings of significant Midwestern prairie school designers.

Call to inquire about their collections of television programs, radio broadcasts, and commercials.

Extensive microfilm holdings, as well as records for federal courts and agencies in the upper Midwest. For more information on what is available, and on access, see the Web site noted above.

The Newberry Library is one of the premier collections in the United States of primary source materials for the study of Early Modern Europe; the history of printing and publishing; American literature through the 1920s; and the history of the Americas, including of Native Americans. The Library houses outstanding collections in many aspects of the history of United States, especially the history of Chicago. A majority of the Newberry's holdings are listed in their online catalog, which can be accessed via the URL above, though you may need to visit the Newberry to find out the full scope of their holdings. The Newberry's collections do not circulate, so you must go to the Library to use their materials. For information on access to the Newberry, please see their web site, or phone them. Also particularly useful are the detailed Newberry Library Collection Descriptions, available at http://www.newberry.org/collections/collections.html .

Separate from the University of Chicago library system is the Oriental Institute Research Archives and Library. Includes collections on the ancient Near East. Call to inquire about using the library.

Dedicated to poetry and poetry criticism. Collection includes books, audio & video recordings, chapbooks, rare & limited editions, and broadsides.

Collection focus on twentieth century military history and the American Civil War; emphasis on the concept of the citizen soldier. In addition to the book collection there are extensive collections of prints, photographs, audiovisual materials, and medals and other artifacts, many of these in the Special Collections Department.

Public
Local Community Media

One of North America's largest Jewish libraries. Call to inquire about collections. The library houses the Chicago Jewish Archives, which are temporarily unavailable for research.

See also information about the Archives

Northwestern's law library, located on the Chicago campus. Many materials can be sent to Evanston via interlibrary loan; rare materials can be used on-site. Some Pritzker databases are restricted, and can used only by law students. Pritzker's hours are listed on their web site. Note that they have special hours during the law schools' reading and exam weeks.

Kent is a designated depository for U.S. government, United Nations, and European Union material.

Serves the legal information needs of the legal profession, judiciary, self-represented litigants, and the public. Collection includes practical legal resources in print and many premier legal databases. Specialized collections include government documents and foreign and international law including current and historical materials.

Access to online collection limited to members of the ADA. The Archives preserves the historical records and publications of the ADA and maintains a reference collection about the history of dentistry.

Includes over 1,000 rare, specialized texts ranging from the 16th – 20th centuries.
The library is available to students and scholars working at the collegiate level, with a highly articulated research focus. General interest will not warrant access. Please email info@imss.org for more information.

History of Anesthesia

Collections include art, photography, communications, journalism, and film/video to resources in arts management and marketing. Houses one of the largest collections of art materials in the Chicago area.

Strong collection of Latino/Latina literature in the general collection; interesting special collections include Irish literature and pulp fiction.

Northwestern students/faculty have reciprocal borrowing privileges at Loyola; for more information on this program, including information on how to activate your reciprocal borrowing privileges, inquire at Northwestern Library’s circulation desk, or go to: http://www.library.northwestern.edu/services/getting-materials/reciprocal-borrowing-programs . Strengths include religious studies and philosophy. A notable special collection is the Women & Leadership Archive http://www.luc.edu/wla/ , housed in the Gannon Center for Women.

Noted for the Performing Arts Library (PAL) whose collections focus on Western art music of all periods, jazz of all styles and periods, selective materials on blues and folk music of the United Sates, selective materials on music of non-Western cultures, very selective materials on popular music. Roosevelt's Special Collections houses the Center for New Deal Studies, which includes print and archival materials.

The University of Chicago houses collections across the humanities and social sciences, with exceptional strengths in South Asia, East Asia, and the Middle East. The Hanna Holborn Gray Special Collections Research Center collections range widely from the middle ages to modern times; see the web site for a useful overview and a list of the archival and manuscript collections in the Special Collections Department.
Contact the Hanna Holborn Gray Special Collections Research Center.

Note especially the UIC Special Collections, which include history of Chicago materials. See the Special Collections and University Archives home page http://www.uic.edu/depts/lib/specialcoll/. Materials are housed in both the Daley Library and the Health Sciences Library, both of which are located on UIC's campus. The Richard J. Daley Special Collections Department houses rare books and archival materials with a strong emphasis on the history of Chicago, though special collections in other areas, such as the Caribbean, are also held.