Research Guides: *Health Informatics: Getting Started

What Do I Use NUsearch For?

NUsearch
NUsearch is the library's online catalog that can help you find items held by all the Northwestern libraries including online journal subscriptions.

Accessing Information

Information about accessing resources through the Galter Health Sciences Library can be found here.

Medical informatics students in the online program can request that materials be sent to them by filling out the form found here. For your Pick-up Location, select "Distance Education" and for your status select "Distance Education Student."

Key Resources

MEDLINE (via OVID) This link opens in a new window
The MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
Gartner Intraweb This link opens in a new window
Online service providing product and market research reports for the information technology (IT) industry as well as reports on technologies used within various spheres of business and electronic commerce.
Restricted to the Northwestern University faculty, staff, and students, with no walk-in user access.

If a user encounters an error message "An error occurred during Federation with Gartner" they need to make their NU email address publicly visible in the directory.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available throught the Internet. Contains abstracts and articles from the core journals in major scientific disciplines. The journals are arranged under subject areas for topical navigation.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to journals, reference works, books, and databases published by Wiley in all the science disciplines. Northwestern University Library access varies by title. Wiley Online Library replaces the resource known as Wiley InterScience Publications or Wiley InterScience Journals.