Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journals and Databases
ACS Synthetic Biology
ACS Synthetic Biology is a monthly peer-reviewed journal dedicated to research in synthetic biology and biological systems. The journal is particularly interested in studies on the design and synthesis of new genetic circuits and gene products; computational methods in the design of systems; and integrative applied approaches to understanding disease and metabolism.
Gene Reports publishes papers that focus on the regulation, expression, function and evolution of genes in all biological contexts, including all prokaryotic and eukaryotic organisms, as well as viruses. Some general topics include: DNA organization, replication & evolution; expression and function; and regulation.
Journal of Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology
Journal of Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology is devoted to rapid publication of full-length research papers that leads to significant contribution in advancing knowledge in genetic engineering and biotechnology and provide novel perspectives in this research area. JGEB includes all major themes related to genetic engineering and recombinant DNA.
PLoS Genetics reflects the full breadth and interdisciplinary nature of genetics and genomics research by publishing outstanding original contributions in all areas of biology - human studies as well as research on model organisms - from mice and flies, to plants and bacteria.
GenETHX: Genetics and Ethics Database
A database of citations to literature in books, journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, news articles and audiovisuals, relating to ethics and public policy issues in genetics. Links to full-text and abstracts are provided when available.
PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
Modern Biotechnology by
Call Number: Oak Grove Library Center - Request Online 660.6 M911m
Publication Date: 2009-08-17
Biotechnology introduces students in science, engineering, or technology to the basics of genetic engineering, recombinant organisms, wild-type fermentations, metabolic engineering and microorganisms for the production of small molecule bioproducts. The text includes a brief historical perspective and economic rationale on the impact of regulation on biotechnology production, as well as chapters on biotechnology in relation to metabolic pathways and microbial fermentations, enzymes and enzyme kinetics, metabolism, biological energetics, metabolic pathways, nucleic acids, genetic engineering, recombinant organisms and the production of monoclonal antibodies.
From Genes to Genomes by
Call Number: Oak Grove Library Center - Request Online 660.65 D139f
Publication Date: 2002-10-08
Rapid advances in our understanding of genetics have required that new books contain topics such as the concept and theory of gene cloning, transgenics, genomics, and various other coverage of traditional and contemporary subjects. Although there is an abundance of textbooks that cover introductory genetics and advanced courses in genetics, there is a noticeable gap at the intermediate (second year) level. In the past gene structure, function and expression were taught at final year /postgraduate level, but the rapid advances in our understanding of genetics has encouraged courses to change considerably. Over recent years these topics have filtered down the curriculum and are currently taught as core topics at second year, with a corresponding change in textbook requirements. Where once second year students were restricted to learning about the concept and theory of gene cloning, now they routinely clone genes for themselves as part of their practical assignments. Genes to Genomics will fill the gap, cover much of the same ground as previous titles, but go further on contemporary topics like transgenics, sequence comparison and analysis of variation.
The Material Gene by
Call Number: Main Library Stacks 572.86 H252m
Publication Date: 2013-05-06
In 2000, the National Human Genome Research Institute announced the completion of a "draft" of the human genome, the sequence information of nearly all 3 billion base pairs of DNA. Since then, interest in the hereditary basis of disease has increased considerably. In The Material Gene, Kelly E. Happe considers the broad implications of this development by treating "heredity" as both a scientific and political concept. Beginning with the argument that eugenics was an ideological project that recast the problems of industrialization as pathologies of gender, race, and class, the book traces the legacy of this ideology in contemporary practices of genomics. Delving into the discrete and often obscure epistemologies and discursive practices of genomic scientists, Happe maps the ways in which the hereditarian body, one that is also normatively gendered and racialized, is the new site whereby economic injustice, environmental pollution, racism, and sexism are implicitly reinterpreted as pathologies of genes and by extension, the bodies they inhabit.
Market Development for Genetically Modified Foods by
Call Number: online access
Publication Date: 2001
The investment climate for firms producing genetically modified (GM) agricultural products has recently experienced considerable change, with the occurrence of remarkably high rate of farmer acceptance, but considerable consumer resistance. The present system that involves firms developing biotech products, farmers producing the products, food and related agribusiness industrial firms, and consumers of food, is very volatile. This however will soon be affected by changes in reulatory, trade and food safety regimes.This book addresses these key issues and is based on papers presented at the fourth meeting of The International Consortium on Agricultural Biotechnology Research (ICABR), on Economics of Agricultural Biotechnology, held at Ravello, Italy, in August 2000. Organized in four parts, this volume focuses on:Consumer reactions to GM food informationRegulatory issuesFarmer acceptance of biotech productsChanges in industrial organization in life science and food sectors