Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARTFL Project This link opens in a new window
The Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language (ARTFL) based at the University of Chicago compiles texts of classic works of French literature, non-fiction prose and technical writing in such subjects as biology, history, economics, philosophy and literary criticism. Includes texts from medieval and Renaissance time periods up to the 20th century.
Klapp-online: Bibliographie der Franzsischen Literaturwissenschaft = Bibliographie d'histoire Littraire Franaise This link opens in a new window
The 'Klapp', officially "Bibliographie der franzsischen Literaturwissenschaft = Bibliographie d'histoire littraire franaise" but mostly called after its creator Otto Klapp, is the most comprehensive survey of publications on French literature since 1956. In 2012, it was converted into a database covering the years 1991-2011, and presented as Klapp-Online. Annual updates will be released each fall, integrated with the cumulative coverage.
Le grand Robert de la Langue Francaise This link opens in a new window
Electronic version of the Grand Robert de la Langue Franaise etymological dictionary. (off campus users currently must use VPN
access; requires the use of Chrome or Safari Internet browsers)
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Compiled by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography lists articles and books in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics in the modern languages, as well as folklore, film studies, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and historical aspects of printing and publishing.
WESS (Western European Subject Specialists) Web
Resources for French Studies (France, and the francophone regions in Belgium, Canada, Switzerland, North Africa, Sub Saharan Africa, North America and the Caribbean). Hosted by the Western European Studies Section, Association of College & Research Libraries.