Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journals and Databases
Engineering Failure Analysis
Engineering Failure Analysis publishes research papers describing the analysis of engineering failure and related studies. Papers relating to the structure, properties, and behavior of engineering materials are encouraged, particularly those which also involve the detailed application of materials parameters to problems in engineering structures.
Safety and Health at Work
Safety and Health at Work (SH@W) is an international, peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journal published quarterly in English beginning in 2010. The journal is aimed at providing grounds for the exchange of ideas and data developed through research experience in the broad field of occupational health and safety.
Journal of Performance of Constructed Facilities
The Journal of Performance of Constructed Facilities attempts to improve the quality of the constructed product through interdisciplinary communication. Papers examine the causes and consequences of failures and other performance problems.
Journal of Quality and Reliability Engineering
Journal of Quality and Reliability Engineering is a peer-reviewed journal, which aims to contribute to the development and use of engineering principles and statistical methods in the quality and reliability fields. The journal employs paperless, electronic review process to enable a fast and speedy introduction and dissemination of innovative quality, statistics and reliability ideas to a wide-range of fields.
ASCE Civil Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
The Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) is designed to provide easy bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers ASCE documents published since 1970. It provides full text access to all the journals; only abstracts and indexing for conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village comprises Compendex and INSPEC. Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. INSPEC is a database providing access to bibliographic citations and abstracts of the scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, information technology, manufacturing and production engineering.
Practical Engineering Failure Analysis by
Call Number: Mudd Library Stacks 620.112 T234p
Publication Date: 2004-08-30
Filling a gap in the literature, Practical Engineering Failure Analysis vividly demonstrates the correct methodology to conduct successful failure analyses, as well as offering the background necessary for these investigations. This authoritative reference covers procedures to reduce the occurrence of component failures due to errors in material selection, design, and manufacturing, as well as fatigue, stress, cracking, creep, and operating conditions. A single-source tool to help professionals avoid costly system failures, improve plant operation and system reliability, and prevent accidents related to component malfunction
Engineering Design by
Call Number: Main Library Stacks 620.00425 D565e 2013
Publication Date: 2012-02-16
Dieter's Engineering Design represents a major update of this classic textbook for senior design courses. As in previous editions, Engineering Design provides a broader overview of topics than most design texts and contains much more prescriptive guidance on how to carry out design. Dieter focuses on material selection as well as how to implement the design process. Engineering Design provides the senior mechanical engineering students with a realistic understanding of the design process. It is written from the viewpoint that design is the central activity of the engineering profession, and it is more concerned with developing attitudes and approaches than in presenting design techniques and tools.
Damage and Fracture Mechanics by
Call Number: online access
Publication Date: 2009-08-09
The First African InterQuadrennial ICF Conference "AIQ-ICF2008" on Damage and Fracture Mechanics - Failure Analysis of Engineering Materials and Structures", Algiers, Algeria, June 1-5, 2008 is the first in the series of InterQuadrennial Conferences on Fracture to be held in the continent of Africa. During the conference, African researchers have shown that they merit a strong reputation in international circles and continue to make substantial contributions to the field of fracture mechanics. As in most countries, the research effort in Africa is undertaken at the industrial, academic, private sector and governmental levels, and covers the whole spectrum of fracture and fatigue. The AIQ-ICF2008 has brought together researchers and engineers to review and discuss advances in the development of methods and approaches on Damage and Fracture Mechanics. By bringing together the leading international experts in the field, AIQ-ICF promotes technology transfer and provides a forum for industry and researchers of the host nation to present their accomplishments and to develop new ideas at the highest level. International Conferences have an important role to play in the technology transfer process, especially in terms of the relationships to be established between the participants and the informal exchange of ideas that this ICF offers.
Failure Analysis by
Call Number: online access
Publication Date: 2014-01-02
This book addresses the failures of structural elements, i.e. those components whose primary mission is to withstand mechanical loads. The book is intended as a self-contained source for those with different technical grades, engineers and scientists but also technicians in the field can benefit from its reading.