This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.

Citations from over 150 scholarly and popular journals of Black Studies, including 40 with full text articles.

Digitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.

Sabinet Online provides relevant information according to their specific information needs from acclaimed international and South African databases. Not only does Sabinet Online allow access to online information from full-text databases, but should the information not be available in immediate full-texts, Sabinet Online also provides clients with effective means to obtain these articles within hours. They can be ordered from document suppliers or by means of interlibrary loans.

Apartheid South Africa makes available British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices spanning the period 1948 to 1980.

The late nineteenth century 'Scramble for Africa' saw European colonial powers carve up the African continent between themselves. The United Kingdom controlled the largest portion of territory, with its Colonial Regulations requiring an ‘Annual Blue Book’ to be submitted from each colony to the British Colonial Office. The Blue Book was an attempt to standardise statistical reports, primarily covering economic development as well as demographic, ecclesiastical, and public records.

This collection contains Blue Books and other archival material from 13 British colonies and protectorates in Africa compiled during the period 1821-1953. The standardised nature of the Blue Books enables comparisons to be drawn geographically (between colonies) and over time on issues from the slave trade and colonial economic practice to education and public health. – Publisher

Empire Online is a collection of documents relating to Empire Studies, including manuscript and printed materials representing both the European and non-European perspective. Materials include, but are not limited to, journals, diaries, periodicals, correspondence, and much more.

Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange provides a vast range of visual, manuscript and printed materials sourced from over twenty key libraries and more than a dozen companies and trade organisations around the world. These original sources will help scholars to explore the history of fifteen major commodities and to examine the ways that these have changed the world. – Publisher

NUsearch is the main search tool for Northwestern University Library, combining the library catalog with a wealth of other databases and online collections.