DSM
- Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR) by American Psychiatric Association, 2022
ISBN: 0890425779
Also available online via Psychiatry Online, click link above to access. "DSM-5-TR includes fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013." --publisher's description
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is the most comprehensive resource used by health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5) by Call Number: MAIN Reference & MAIN Core 616.8907 A512 2013ISBN: 089042554XAlso available online via PsychiatryOnline, click link above to access.
The latest edition is DSM-5-TR. For earlier editions, search in NUsearch to find paper copies.
Reference Tools
Guidebooks and directories provide a wealth of information about resources on counseling, including specific disorders and related topics.
Self-Help That Works : Resources to Improve Emotional Health and Strengthen Relationships by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 0199915156New York : Oxford University Press, 2013
Authoritative Guide to Self-Help Resources in Mental Health by Call Number: MAIN Reference 362.20973 A939ISBN: 1572308966New York : Guilford Press, 2003
Directory of Health and Human Services in Metropolitan ChicagoCall Number: Latest edition (2009/2010) at MAIN Reference (Desk) 360.9 S6781aISBN: 0979704294Chicago : Community Resource Network, 2005-
Dictionaries help to clarify terminology by providing definitions of terms and can be a good source of potential keywords for searches in the catalog or databases.
APA Dictionary of Psychology by Call Number: MAIN Reference 150.3 A639Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, 2007.
Campbell's Psychiatric Dictionary by Call Number: MAIN Reference 616.89003 C189c 2009ISBN: 0195341597Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2009.
The Counseling Dictionary by Call Number: MAIN Reference 361.0603 G542cISBN: 0131707728Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson/Merrill Prentice Hall, 2006.
Dictionary of Psychological Testing, Assessment and Treatment by Call Number: MAIN Reference 150.287 S932dISBN: 1843104946London; Philadelphia: Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 2007.
Available online, click link above for access.
Legal and Ethical Dictionary for Mental Health Professionals by Call Number: MAIN Reference 344.73044 A285l 2009ISBN: 0761846840Lanham, MD: University Press of America, 2009.
The Corsini Encyclopedia of PsychologyISBN: 9780470479216Publication Date: Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2010Available online; click link above to access.
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science, 4 Volume Set by Call Number: MAIN Library Large 150.3 C826ISBN: 0471239496Publication Date: 2000-12-11
Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology by Call Number: MAIN Library L 158.03 E56ISBN: 0126574103Publication Date: 2004-09-21
Encyclopedia of Human Relationships by ISBN: 9781412958462Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, 2009.
Available online, click link above to access.
Encyclopedia of Counseling by ISBN: 9781412909280Los Angeles: SAGE Publications, 2008.
Available online, click link above for access.
Encyclopedia of Couple and Family Therapy by ISBN: 9783319494258Publication Date: Springer, 2019Available online, click link above to access. Note: One simultaneous user; please log off promptly when finished so that others may access this book.
Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment by Call Number: MAIN Reference 150.28703 E56ISBN: 0761954945Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2003.
Available online, click link above for access.
Encyclopedia of Psychology by Call Number: MAIN Reference (Encyclopedia Case) 150.3 E564ISBN: 1557981876Washington, DC; Oxford; New York : American Psychological Association; Oxford University Press, 2000.
Available online: vol.1 (A-B), vol.2 (C-D), vol.3 (E-G), vol.4 (H-L), vol.5 (M-O), vol.6 (P-R), vol.7 (R-S), vol.8 (T-Z)
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health by ISBN: 1414429908Detroit: Gale, 2008.
Available online, click link above for access.
International Dictionary of Psychoanalysis by Call Number: Main Reference 616.8917 D554XISBN: 0028659244Detroit : Macmillan Reference USA, 2005
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by Call Number: MAIN Reference (Encyclopedia Case) 300.3 I61ISBN: 0080430767Amsterdam: Elsevier, 2001.
Available online, click link above for access.
The Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods by ISBN: 0761923632Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2004.
Available online, click link above to access.
Handbooks provide more in-depth information and practical guidance about specific topics within the field of counseling. Here are some examples.
APA Handbook of Counseling Psychology by Call Number: MAIN Large Books L 158.3 A639ISBN: 9781433811074Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2012.
Clinical Handbook of Couple Therapy by Call Number: MAIN Library RC488.5 .C584 2015ISBN: 9781462513925New York, NY : The Guilford Press, 2015.
Counseling Persons with Addictions & Compulsions : A Handbook for Clergy and Other Helping Professionals by Call Number: Styberg Library BV 4460.3 .W329ISBN: 9780829817058Cleveland, OH : Pilgrim Press, 2007.
Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy : A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner by Call Number: Styberg Library RC455.4.L67 W67 2009ISBN: 0826101208New York : Springer Pub. Co., 2009.
Available online, click link above for access.
Handbook of Clinical Family Therapy by Call Number: MAIN Library 616.89156 H2357ISBN: 0471431346Hoboken, NJ : John Wiley, 2005.
Handbook of Counseling Psychology by ISBN: 9780470096222Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley, 2008.
Available online, click link above to access.
Handbook of Couples Therapy by ISBN: 9780471444084Hoboken, NJ : John Wiley, 2004.
Available online, click link above to access.
Handbook of Crisis Counseling, Intervention, and Prevention in the Schools by Call Number: MAIN Lower Level 371.713 H236ISBN: 0805836152Mahwah, NJ : L. Erlbaum Associates, 2002.
Handbook of Multicultural Counseling by Call Number: Galter Health Sciences Library: Level 2 WM 55 H236 2010ISBN: 076191983XLos Angeles : SAGE, 2010.
Handbook of Multicultural Mental Health by ISBN: 9780123944207Waltham, MA: Elsevier, Inc., 2013.
Available online, click link above to access.
Living and Surviving in Harm's Way : A Psychological Treatment Handbook for Pre- and Post-deployment of Military Personnel by Call Number: MAIN Library 616.85212 L785ISBN: 9780415988681New York : Routledge, 2009.
Oxford Handbook of Cultural Neuroscience and Global Mental HealthISBN: 9780190057718New York: Oxford University Press
Available online; click link above to access.
Oxford Handbook of Group Counseling by Call Number: MAIN Library 158.35 O98ISBN: 9780195394450New York : Oxford University Press, 2010.
