Compiled by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography lists articles and books in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics in the modern languages, as well as folklore, film studies, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and historical aspects of printing and publishing.

Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analayses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, essayist, poets, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Includes links to: Dictionary of literary biography, Contemporary authors, Contemporary literary criticism, and more.

Includes articles about descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.

Includes scholarship on the English language, literature, bibliography, and traditional culture of the English-speaking world. Items indexed include monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations.

Collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Among the titles selected are numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages. Also features journals, reference works, and interviews with key writers.

Essay & General Literature Index offers access to individual essays that appeared as part of an essay collection, many going back to 1900 and some earlier. Coverage spans the entire range of the humanities and social sciences, including literary works, art history, drama, and film.

Digitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.

Not all content is available full text to Northwestern community.

Searchable database that provides access to the content of journals and ebooks published from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.

The Premium Collection is MUSE's foremost collection of over 700 high quality, peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies.

Allows you to search and see what articles in the database have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.

Art & Architecture Source provides indexing and abstracting for journals, magazines and books covering topics, including art in all media, art history and criticism, architecture, archaeology, museum studies, graphic arts and advertising, product design, interior design, costume and set design, and television, video, & film from all parts of the world and all periods of time. Covers sources from 1914 to the present with selected full text.

Indexing and abstracting for journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Coverage is international and includes modern and contemporary art forms, both famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends.

Art Index Retrospective 1929-1984 covers content from more than 600 publications, many of which are peer reviewed, including periodicals, yearbooks and museum bulletins in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch. Materials include feature articles, interviews, film reviews, bibliographies, exhibition listings, conference reports, anthologies, editorials, reproduction of works of art, notices of competitions and awards and letters to the editor, as well asover 25,000 book reviews.