Your Librarian
Subjects: Government Information; Regulatory Compliance; Gender & Sexuality Studies
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
Make an Appointment
Chicago Style Manual & Complements
The Chicago Manual of Style by Call Number: multiple NU Library locationsPublication Date: 2017 17th editionThis seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords.
Chicago Manual of Style Online - a selection of sections linked below
- Grammar and Usage - finer points of grammar, punctuation, syntax, and bias free language.
- Punctuation -
- Notes and Bibliography - when, why, and how of footnotes, bibliographies, and citation format for different source types
- Author-Date References
- Chicago Style Q&A - review answers to questions submitted, or ask a question yourself!
- Chicago Manual of Style Online - Resources for Students (Turabian) - incudes paper formatting tip sheets, Chicago Style basics, tip sheets on crafting a paper (shaping your writing and research around a research question) and much more.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Call Number: multiple NU Library locationsISBN: 9780226494425Publication Date: 2018 9th editionFirst produced in 1937 to provide a simpler version of Chicago Style guidelines for student writers of theses and dissertations, Turabian has become a standard style in the humanities and has gone through multiple editions and editors. ----- Chapters include updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources and also recognize the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission. The ninth edition is fully aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research.
Cite Right, Third Edition by Call Number: Main Library Core Reference - 2 North PN171.F56 L55 2018Publication Date: 2018Cite Right is the perfect guide for anyone who needs to learn a new citation style or who needs an easy reference to Chicago, MLA, APA, AMA, and other styles. Each chapter serves as a quick guide that introduces the basics of a style, explains who might use it, and then presents an abundance of examples. This edition includes updates reflecting the most recent editions of The Chicago Manual of Style and the MLA Handbook.
They Say / I Say by Call Number: Call Number: Main Library Reserve - located at Main Circulation Desk PE1431 .G73 2018Publication Date: 2018 4th editionCheck HathiTrust for digitized copy of 2014 3rd edition
This book identifies the key rhetorical moves in academic writing. It shows students how to frame their arguments as a response to what others have said and provides templates to help them start making the moves. The fourth edition features many NEW examples from academic writing, a NEW chapter on Entering Online Discussions, and a thoroughly updated chapter on Writing in the Social Sciences. Finally, two NEW readings provide current examples of the rhetorical moves in action.
Chicago Style Background Information
Allen, M. (2017). Chicago Style, IN The sage encyclopedia of communication research methods (Vols. 1-4). Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc doi: 10.4135/9781483381411
This encyclopedia entry provides an overview of Chicago Style, including general style guidelines, formatting a paper, and both the Notes-Bibliography system (used largely in the humanities) and Author-Date system (used largely in the social sciences).
Chicago style that has been modified for students is known as Turabian style and is documented in A Manual for Writers, originally by Kate L.Turabian, now in its 8th edition.
Gump's review for the 9th edition of Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers includes a helpful history of the origins and editions of this book, along with its role as in intermediate-level guide in relation to the beginner guide, Student’s Guide to Writing College Papers (also by Turabian), and the Chicago Manual of Style itself.
What follows are a selection of additional articles in the encyclopedia explaining the writing and citing processes. Use links at the bottom of each article to continue exploring.
- Allen, M. (2017). Citations to Research, IN The sage encyclopedia of communication research methods (Vols. 1-4). Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc doi: 10.4135/9781483381411
- Allen, M. (2017). Acknowledging the Contribution of Others, IN The sage encyclopedia of communication research methods (Vols. 1-4). Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc doi: 10.4135/9781483381411
- Allen, M. (2017). Writing Process, The, IN The sage encyclopedia of communication research methods (Vols. 1-4). Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc doi: 10.4135/9781483381411
- Allen, M. (2017). Publication Style Guides, IN The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods. 4 vols. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc, 2017. SAGE Research Methods. Web. 24 Jun. 2020, doi: 10.4135/9781483381411.