Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ChemDraw is a chemical drawing tool. You may download it here. You will need a Northwestern e-mail address.
Connecting from Off Campus
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books.Powerful tools allow you to search and see what articles in the database have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical information, including property data of chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions. Interface to and content of the databases of Beilstein (commonly known as Crossfire Beilstein) and Gmelin.
SciFinder-N / SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new window
Search for substances, reactions, patents and references. SciFinder is the interface to CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) databases. First time NU users need to register (see below).
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new window
SpringerMaterials is a database that allows materials scientists and related scientists to identify materials and their properties. It is the most comprehensive collection of data in the fields of physics, physical and inorganic chemistry, materials science, and related fields.
Wiley Database of Polymer Properties This link opens in a new window
The Wiley Database of Polymer Properties contains experimentally determined and selected data for over 2,500 polymers. The initial content is derived from the Polymer Handbook. Search features include the ability to search for polymers matching specific properties or ranges of properties, the ability to create custom tables for all the properties of a specific polymer, and the ability to access the full-text html for references to the primary literature via CrossRef.
Derwent Innovations Index (U.S. and World Patents Index) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 14,800,000 patents with links to cited and citing patents, cited articles, and full-text patent data sources. Coverage: 1995-Present