The Northwestern University Archives, established in 1935, houses records, publications, photographs, and other materials pertaining to every aspect of Northwestern’s history, including the papers of faculty, biographic information on Northwestern alumni, a complete run of Daily Northwestern issues, a complete set of catalogs and bulletins from each of the schools and 250,000 photographs.

The finding aids in this database describe archival and manuscript materials held by various Northwestern University libraries. Information regarding content, historical context, creation and arrangement of a collection can be found in these finding aids, though the depth of detail varies by individual collection. Some collections may have restrictions on access; these are noted in the finding aid.

The University Archives, one of Northwestern's Special Libraries, contains materials relating to every aspect of Northwestern’s 150+ year history, Our collections are not just for scholarly researchers or for administrators consulting their old files—our photographs, scrapbooks, diaries, student publications, yearbooks and catalogues reveal how student life has changed over the decades—and how it has remained the same. These materials provide context for current students’ own experiences and are a rich resource for research and information.

The mission of the Campus Inclusion and Community is to work collaboratively with the university community to cultivate inclusive learning environments through the intentional engagement with difference.

Student Enrichment Services (SES) works with low-income and/or first-generation students to enhance their academic success, personal development, and professional growth. Through campus-wide partnerships, SES builds an inclusive Northwestern community by engaging students and their allies with programming and dialogue around the low-income and/or first-generation experience.

Multicultural Student Affairs (MSA) enriches the cultural experience of Northwestern through leadership and education programming; providing opportunities for community engagement and identity expression; and assisting students in navigating the University.

Social Justice Education (SJE) creates co-curricular educational opportunities in partnership with our student community that foster self-exploration, facilitate conversations across difference and support actions that create social change on campus.

The annual Northwestern University Data Book started in 1967-68 as a medium to provide the community with a summary of official statistical information.

The Common Data Set consists of the following data about Northwestern University. We report this information in a standard (common) format in collaboration with higher education peers.

It is a system of interrelated surveys conducted annually by the U.S. Department of Education’s National Center for Education Statistics (NCES). IPEDS gathers information from every college, university, and technical and vocational institution that participates in the federal student financial aid programs.