Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journals and Databases
Online version of Chemical Abstracts database includes citations to journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, books, reviews, and technical reports.
FIRST TIME USERS: Register using Northwestern email address at: http://turing.library.northwestern.edu/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=10872C40X86F350ABX5E7195041C1C8226AC
Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical information, including property data of chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions. Interface to and content of the databases of Beilstein (commonly known as Crossfire Beilstein) and Gmelin.
Focuses on all aspects of organic chemistry, including new synthetic methodology, bioorganic and medicinal chemistry, physical and theoretical organic chemistry, and natural products isolation and synthesis.
Advanced Synthesis and Catalysis
Advanced Synthesis & Catalysis is an international journal dedicated to the advancement of efficient and practical synthesis, which is a joint effort by academic and industrial chemists to meet the global and societal challenges with which chemistry is faced in the 21st Century. The journal brings together chemists from various areas of research including synthetic organic chemistry, organometallics, metal-complex catalysis, organic catalysis, biocatalysis, biotechnology, and process chemistry.
All the procedures and characterization data in this journal are peer-reviewed and checked for reproducibility in the laboratory of a member of the Board of Editors
Detailed information on more than 4,500 reagents and catalysts
Name Reactions by
Publication Date: 2014-02-13
In this fifth edition of Jack Jie Li's seminal "Name Reactions", the author has added twenty-seven new name reactions to reflect the recent advances in organic chemistry. As in previous editions, each reaction is delineated by its detailed step-by-step, electron-pushing mechanism and supplemented with the original and the latest references, especially from review articles. Now with addition of many synthetic applications, this book is not only an indispensable resource for advanced undergraduate and graduate students, but is also a good reference book for all organic chemists in both industry and academia. Unlike other books on name reactions in organic chemistry, Name Reactions, A Collection of Detailed Reaction Mechanisms and Synthetic Applications focuses on the reaction mechanisms. It covers over 320 classical as well as contemporary name reactions.
Molecules That Changed the World by
Publication Date: 2008-03-17
K.C. Nicolaou - Winner of the Nemitsas Prize 2014 in Chemistry Here, the best-selling author and renowned researcher, K. C. Nicolaou, presents around 40 natural products that all have an enormous impact on our everyday life. Printed in full color throughout with a host of pictures, this book is written in the author′s very enjoyable and distinct style, such that each chapter is full of interesting and entertaining information on the facts, stories and people behind the scenes. Molecules covered span the healthy and useful, as well as the much-needed and extremely toxic, including Aspirin, urea, camphor, morphine, strychnine, penicillin, vitamin B12, Taxol, Brevetoxin and quinine. A veritable pleasure to read.
Classics in Stereoselective Synthesis by
Publication Date: 2009-02-09
Providing an excellent compilation of the most important and useful methods of modern stereoselective synthesis, this book features illustrative examples of drug and natural product syntheses, resulting in a rich source of stimulating ideas for the efficient use of asymmetric reactions in the users' own synthesis. The authors adopt a novel approach in not attempting to present this rapidly developing area in its entirety, but to distill the truly groundbreaking reactions that should be in the repertoire of every synthetic organic chemist.
Reaction Mechanisms in Organic Synthesis by
Publication Date: 2008-12-31
Organic chemistry is a core part of the chemistry curricula, and advanced levels texts often obscure the essential framework underlying and uniting the vast numbers of reactions as a result of the high level of detail presented. The material in this book is condensed into a manageable text of 350 pages and presented in a clear and logical fashion, focusing purely on the basics of the subject without going through exhaustive detail or repetitive examples. The book aims to bridge the gap between undergraduate organic chemistry textbooks and advanced level textbooks, beginning with a basic introductory course and arranging the reaction mechanisms according to an ascending order of difficulty. As such, the author believes the book will be excellent primer for advanced postgraduates Reaction Mechanisms in Organic Synthesis is written from the point of view of the synthetic organic chemist, enabling students and researchers to understand and expand on reactions covered in foundation courses, and to apply them in a practical context by designing syntheses. As a further aid to the practical research student, the content is organized according to the conditions under which a reaction is executed rather than by the types of mechanisms. Particular emphasis is placed on controlling stereospecificity and regiospecificity. Topics covered include: Transition metal mediated carbon-carbon bond formation reactions Use of stabilized carbanions, ylides and enamines for carbon-carbon bond formation reactions, Advanced level use of oxidation and reduction reagents in synthesis. As a modern text, this book stands out from its competitors due to its comprehensive coverage of recently published research. The book contains specific examples from the latest literature, covering modern reactions and the latest procedural modifications. The focus on contemporary and synthetically useful reactions ensures that the contents are specifically relevant and attractive to postgraduate students and industrial organic chemists.
Principles of Asymmetric Synthesis by
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
The world is chiral. Most of the molecules in it are chiral, and asymmetric synthesis is an important means by which enantiopure chiral molecules may be obtained for study and sale. Using examples from the literature of asymmetric synthesis, this book presents a detailed analysis of the factors that govern stereoselectivity in organic reactions. After an explanation of the basic physical-organic principles governing stereoselective reactions, the authors provide a detailed, annotated glossary of stereochemical terms. A chapter on "Practical Aspects of Asymmetric Synthesis" provides a critical overview of the most common methods for the preparation of enantiomerically pure compounds, techniques for analysis of stereoisomers using chromatographic, spectroscopic, and chiroptical methods. The authors then present an overview of the most important methods in contemporary asymmetric synthesis organized by reaction type. Thus, there are four chapters on carbon-carbon bond forming reactions, one chapter on reductions, and one on oxidations (carbon-oxygen and carbon-nitrogen bond forming reactions). This organization allows the reader to compare the leading methods for asymmetric synthesis in an appropriate context. A highlight of the book is the presentation and discussion of transition states at the current level of understanding, for important reaction types. In addition, extensive tables of examples are used to give the reader an appreciation for the scope of each reaction. Finally, leading references are provided to natural product synthesis that has been accomplished using a given reaction as a key step. Authoritative glossary to aid understanding of stereochemical terminologyExplanations of the key factors influencing stereoselectivity with numerous examples, organized by reaction typeA handy reference guide to the literature of asymmetric synthesis for practitioners in the field