Where to Search
Excerpted from Evans, Minotti, Post. & Sweet, "Literature Resources: Where to Search." in Literature Searches and Literature Reviews for Transportation Research Projects: How to Search, Where to Search, and How to Put It All Together: Current Practices.
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new windowBusiness research. Full-text journals, business press and trade publications. Subjects: businesses, commodities, freight service, industries, markets.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary. Indexes 11,000 peer-reviewed journals and trade publications. Subjects: aviation, planning, transportation.
- ASCE Civil Engineering Database This link opens in a new windowCivil engineering. Indexes and provides full-text access to all 33 ASCE journals (1983 to present), conference proceedings (2000 to present), standards, and e-books. Includes topical special collections. Subjects: bridges, construction, environment, harbors, highway engineering, materials, pavements, pipelines, transportation, tunnels.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from regional, national and international business and trade journals.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowAll engineering disciplines. Indexes more than 5,000 journals as well as conference papers and technical reports; includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts. Subjects: bridges, construction, environment, highway engineering, traffic engineering, transportation.
- ERICPrimarily education. Indexes books, journals, reports, proceedings, statistical data, tests, and dissertations. Subjects: school buses; school children; pedestrians; bicycling; cyclists, school safety.
- FRA E-LibraryProvides access to accident, safety, litigation and compliance reports; technical and environmental reports; conference papers; press releases; and policy and guidance documents. Subjects: rail transportation. railroads. freight and passenger service. railroad safety, regulation.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary. Retrieves articles, theses, books, and abstracts from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other websites. Some records include links to related articles and to other sources that cite the item. Subjects: energy, environment, planning, safety, transportation.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new windowElectrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Indexes 160 journals, 1,200 conference proceedings, and more than 3,800 technical standards published by IEEE. Subjects: control (electronic), information systems, information technology, intelligent transportation systems, vehicle electronics.
- INSPEC This link opens in a new windowElectrical engineering, electronics, computer science. Indexes 5,000 journals and other serial titles; 2,500 conference proceedings added annually. Subjects: control, information systems, information technology, intelligent transportation systems, traffic engineering, vehicle electronics.
- National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) This link opens in a new windowNTIS contains records for more than 3 million technical reports (800,000 with full-text links) from government agencies including the U.S. DOT and the U.S. Department of Energy. Full-text reports can be downloaded free of charge and hardcopies of all reports can be purchased. NTRL offers subscription-based access to NTIS indexes, abstracts, and technical reports. Subjects: aviation, energy, engineering, environment, pavements, transportation.
- North American City Reports This link opens in a new windowThe North American city reports module on Policy Commons contains over five million pages of in-depth surveys, reports, and research from more than six hundred North American cities and urban agencies
- Practice Ready PapersDatabase of TRB peer-reviewed papers where the information presented is ready for immediate implementation by transportation practitioners. Subjects: air transportation construction, highways, maintenance, policy, public transit, transportation, railroad transportation, safety, water transportation.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowCitations to more than 3 million dissertations and theses and 1 million full-text. Subjects: communications and control, construction, energy, engineering, environment, planning and design, safety and security, transportation operations.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowProvides information about psychological aspects of disciplines such as medicine, education, business and law. Subjects: alcohol use, behavior, distraction, drivers, drug use, human factors, perception.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowBiomedicine. Indexes 5600 journals and includes more than 19 million citations. Subjects: alcohol use, anatomy, biophysics, distraction, drivers, drug use, injuries, human behavior, human factors, perception.
- ROSA-P: Repository and Open Science Access PortalFounded as an all-digital library program, NTL’s collections in ROSA P are full-text electronic publications, datasets, and other resources. The repository is also designated as the full-text repository for USDOT-funded research under the USDOT Public Access Plan. NTL provides its collections freely to transportation researchers, statistical organizations, the media, and the general public.
- SafetyLitIndexes reports from 30 professional disciplines relevant to preventing unintentional injuries including economics, engineering, ergonomics and human factors, health and medicine, law and law enforcement, and psychology. Subjects: crashes, ergonomics, human factors, safety, injuries, law enforcement
- NUsearch This link opens in a new windowNUsearch is the main search tool for Northwestern University Library, combining the library catalog with a wealth of other databases and online collections.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary. Indexes more than 2,200 peer-reviewed journals published by Elsevier in the sciences and engineering. Subjects: energy, environment, highways, railroads, safety, transportation.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary. Covers journals, patents, and websites from more than 5,000 publishers. Indexes more than 21,000 science, medical, technical, and social science peer-reviewed titles. Provides citation and cited-reference searching. Subjects: aviation, energy, engineering, environment, highway engineering, human factors, planning, safety, traffic engineering, transportation
- TRID This link opens in a new windowWorld’s largest and most comprehensive bibliographic database for transportation. Contains more than 1 million records of published research and ongoing research projects. Covers peer-reviewed journals, research and technical reports, papers from conference proceedings, trade publications, environmental impact statements, and books. Provides links to more than 120,000 full-text reports, papers, and articles. Includes all modes and aspects of transportation. International in scope with 400,000 records from European sources. Subjects: transportation; highways; air transportation; railroad transportation; water transportation; public transit; construction; maintenance; safety; policy.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary. Indexes more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Includes Science Citation Index, providing searching of footnoted citations. Subjects: aviation, bridges, construction, energy, environment, highway engineering, human factors, planning, safety, traffic engineering, transportation.
Excerpted from Evans, Minotti, Post. & Sweet, "Literature Resources: Where to Search." in Literature Searches and Literature Reviews for Transportation Research Projects: How to Search, Where to Search, and How to Put It All Together: Current Practices.
- Annual Energy ReviewU.S. Department of Energy. Energy Information Administration. Reports annual energy statistics beginning with 1949. Includes data on total energy production, consumption, and trade; overviews of petroleum, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear energy, renewable energy, international energy, as well as financial and environmental indicators. Subjects: energy, environment, fuel consumption.
- Boating Safety Resource CenterU.S. Coast Guard. Provides statistics on all reported recreational boating safety accidents and incidents throughout the United States and its territories. Subjects: safety, ships, water transportation.
- Bureau of Transportation StatisticsBTS data collections include traffic, passenger flow, employment, financial condition, and on-time performance of commercial aviation; the Commodity Flow Survey; transborder movement of freight by mode of transportation; a census of ferry operations, precursor safety data for transit operations, and data on near misses and equipment failures in offshore operations.
- CAFÉ–Fuel EconomyIncludes links to reports on fuel economy performance of vehicle fleet. Subjects: environment, fuel consumption, vehicles.
- Census Transportation Planning Products (CTPP)A set of special tabulations from decennial census demographic surveys, designed for transportation planners. Utilizing large sample size, it provides reliable and accurate data. Subjects: census, persons and personal characteristics, transportation operations.
- Commodity Flow SurveyPrimary source of national- and state-level data on domestic freight shipments by American establishments in mining, manufacturing, wholesale, auxiliaries, and selected retail industries. Data are provided on the types, origins and destinations, values, weights, modes of transport, distance shipped, and ton-miles of commodities shipped. Subjects: commodities, freight transportation, hazardous materials, trade.
- Congestion Data for Your CityProvides basic statistics and ranking for urban areas in categories of: travel delay, excess fuel consumed, truck congestion cost, and total congestion cost with comparisons back to 1982. Detailed information is provided on spreadsheets for 101 cities. Subjects: commuting, drivers, freight.
- DATA.govSite of U.S. government’s Open Data portal. Comprehensive coverage of over 20 topics including Climate, Geospatial, Public Safety, and over 90,600 datasets. Federal, state and local data, resources, and tools. Subjects: crashes, drivers, environment, highway safety, injuries, safety.
- Data Sources Related to Freight TransportationIncludes links to information on highway, maritime, rail, and pipeline modes, product information, and road classification. Subjects: freight transportation, highway travel, trade, transportation modes
- FARS: Fatality Analysis Reporting SystemProvides annual data regarding fatal injuries in motor vehicle traffic accidents; allows user to run customized queries. Subjects: alcohol use, bicyclists, crashes, distraction; drivers, fatalities, highway safety, injuries, safety
- FAA Data and ResearchProvides data on accidents and incidents, safety, passengers, cargo, commercial space, funding, and aviation forecasts. Subjects: aircraft crashes, aviation, safety
- Federal Motor Carrier Safety AdministrationProvides access to safety ratings and crash statistics for commercial trucks and buses in tables, reports. Subjects: buses, crashes, freight transportation, hazardous materials, motor carriers, safety
- Federal Railroad Administration - Office of Safety AnalysisProvides data files on railroad safety information including accidents and incidents, inspection and highway–rail crossing data. Subjects: freight transportation, rail, safety
- Freight Analysis FrameworkIntegrates data from a variety of sources to create a comprehensive picture of freight movement among states and major metropolitan areas. Provides estimates for tonnage and value, by commodity type, mode, origin, and destination. Subjects: commodities, freight transportation, trade, transportation operations.
- Highway Safety Information System.A multistate database that contains crash, roadway inventory, and traffic volume data for a select group of states. Participating states were selected based on the quality and quantity of data available, and ability to merge data from various files. Subjects: crashes, drivers, highway safety, road construction
- Highway StatisticsThe Highway Statistics Series consists of annual reports containing analyzed statistical information on motor fuel, motor vehicle registrations, driver licenses, highway user taxation, highway mileage, travel, and highway finance. These information are presented in tables as well as selected charts. It has been published annually since 1945.
- Journey to Work and Place of WorkIncludes data on Means of Transportation to Work, Travel Time to Work, Time Leaving Home to Go to Work, Private Vehicle Occupancy, and Travel to Work Characteristics. Subjects: behavior, commuting, highway travel, transportation operations.
- Transportation Public Finance Statistics (TPFS)Transportation Public Finance Statistics (TPFS) provides information on transportation-related revenue and expenditures for all levels of government, including federal, state, and local, and for all modes of transportation.
- Monthly Energy ReviewIncludes total energy production, consumption, and trade; energy prices; overviews of petroleum, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear energy, renewable energy, and international petroleum; carbon dioxide emissions; and data unit conversions values. Subjects: energy, greenhouse gases, trade.
- Motor Vehicle Accidents and FatalitiesData from US Census Bureau on Transportation motor vehicle accidents and fatalities from Statistical Abstract. Subjects: crashes, distraction, drivers, fatalities, injuries, safety
- National Automotive Sampling SystemComposed of two systems, the Crashworthiness Data System (CDS) and the General Estimates System (GES), and based on cases selected from a sample of police crash reports. Provides data on passenger vehicle crashes to identify potential improvements in vehicle design. GES data focus on the overall crash picture and trends. Subjects: crashes, highway safety, injuries, safety.
- National Bridge Inventory DatabaseProvides data tables from National Bridge Inventory identifying bridges by new construction and rehabilitation, state and county, condition, deficiencies, deck type, year of construction and other factors. Subjects: bridges, structural health monitoring
- National Emissions Inventory (NEI) Air Pollutant Emission Trends DataPresents the estimate of national emissions of the criteria air pollutants. Emissions of pollutants are estimated for many different source categories, collectively accounting for all anthropogenic emissions. Subjects: environment, greenhouse gases, pollutants
- National Household Travel SurveyNational data on the travel behavior of the American public. Allows for analysis of daily travel by all modes, characteristics of the people traveling, their household, and their vehicles. The 2009 NHTS
updates information gathered in the 2001 NHTS and in prior Nationwide Personal Transportation Surveys. Subjects: behavior, commuting, persons and personal characteristics, transportation modes. - National Transit DatabaseInformation and statistics on more than 660 transit systems in the United States. The types of data reported include operational characteristics, services characteristics, capital revenues and assets, and financial operating statistics. Subjects: buses, rail, transit, transportation modes.
- National Transportation Atlas DatabaseSet of nationwide geographic databases of transportation facilities, networks, and associated infrastructure. These datasets include spatial information for modal networks and intermodal terminals. Metadata documentation, as prescribed by the Federal Geographic Data Committee, is provided for each database. Subjects: transportation modes, transportation operations
- National Transportation Safety BoardThe NTSB is an independent federal agency charged by Congress with investigating every civil aviation accident in the United States and significant accidents in other modes of transportation–railroad, highway, marine and pipeline. Subjects: aircraft crashes, aviation, highway safety, pipelines, rail, safety, water transportation.
- National Transportation StatisticsStatistics on the U.S. transportation system, including its physical components, safety record, economic performance, the human and natural environment, and national security. More than 260 data tables plus data source and accuracy statements. Internet edition is updated quarterly. Subjects: economic and social factors, environment, safety, transportation operations.
- State Data System (SDS)While the Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) has fatal crash data, SDS includes valuable data on injury and property-damage-only crashes. Consists of census data taken from police accident reports. Subjects: crashes, drivers, highway safety. Free.
- State Transportation StatisticsStatistical profile of state transportation infrastructure. Freight movement, passenger travel, system safety, vehicles, and transportation-related economy and finance, energy usage, environment. Subjects: environment, economic and social factors, transit, transportation modes, transportation operations.
- Statistical Abstract of the United StatesComprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States and a guide to sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other federal agencies, and private organizations. Subjects: census, economic and social factors, persons and personal characteristics.
- Transportation Energy Data BookStatistics and information that characterize transportation activity with data on factors that influence transportation energy use. Chapters focus on petroleum, energy, highway vehicles, light vehicles, heavy vehicles, alternative fuel vehicles, fleet vehicles, household vehicles, nonhighway modes, transportation and the economy, greenhouse gas emissions, and criteria pollutant emissions. Subjects: environment, fuel consumption, greenhouse gases, pollutants.
- Transportation Statistics Annual ReportPresents data and information about the performance and impacts of the U.S. transportation system.Topics include traffic flows for all modes; travel times and measures of congestion; transportation costs; availability and use of mass transit; consequences of transportation for the environment; and the extent, connectivity, and condition of the transportation system. Subjects: economic and social factors, environment, finance, safety, transportation, transportation modes
- TranStatsProvides comprehensive datasets by agency, mode, and subject. Subjects: economic and social factors, environment, safety, transportation, transportation modes, transportation operations.
- Urban Mobility ScorecardProvides mobility and congestion data on freeways and major streets for 100 urban areas. Includes annual Urban Mobility Report and Congested Corridors Report along with summary data tables and description of methodologies. Subjects: commuting, highway travel, traffic congestion
- Waterborne Commerce Statistics CenterIncludes internal U.S. waterway monthly tonnage, container traffic for U.S. ports and all 50 states and U.S. territories; waterborne commerce of the U.S. waterways and harbors. Subjects:
commodities, harbors, shipping, water transportation.
Excerpted from Evans, Minotti, Post. & Sweet, "Literature Resources: Where to Search." in Literature Searches and Literature Reviews for Transportation Research Projects: How to Search, Where to Search, and How to Put It All Together: Current Practices.
- Transportation Research Board DirectoryThe TRB Online Directory provides access to points of contact and information on TRB’s standing committees, project-based
committees and panels, and governing committees, as well as to lists of TRB sponsors, affiliates, and representatives. In addition, the directory provides password controlled access to contact information on TRB’s more than 7,000 volunteers. Subjects: directories, professional personnel,specialists. - Federal Highway Administration Research Expertise DirectoryThe expertise of TFHRC scientists, engineers, and support staff at 20 laboratories and data centers encompasses more than 100 transportation-related disciplines and expertise areas. Subjects: directories, professional personnel, specialists
- AASHTO CommitteesMuch of AASHTO’s work is done by committees comprising volunteer state DOT personnel. AASHTO provides a forum for
consideration of transportation issues and conducts surveys, provides data, and testifies before Congress on transportation legislation. Subjects: directories, professional personnel, specialists.
Excerpted from Evans, Minotti, Post. & Sweet, "Literature Resources: Where to Search." in Literature Searches and Literature Reviews for Transportation Research Projects: How to Search, Where to Search, and How to Put It All Together: Current Practices.
- Association of American RailroadsReports on the State of the Rail Industry and the Economic and Fiscal Impact Analysis of Class I Railroads, plus a Data Center with statistics and data.
- Context Sensitive SolutionsA portal funded by FHWA linking to information on context-sensitive solutions and design. Subjects: highway design; context sensitive design; planning
- International Air Transport AssociationData and analysis of economics and policy affecting the globalperformance of the airline industry. Subjects: airlines, airports, economics, international airports, international transportation.
- Local Technical Assistance Program (LTAP) ClearinghouseA resource database to provide practical, technical, and training-related information for the transportation workforce.
- Maritime Administration: U.S. Department of TransportationFleet and trade statistics for water transportation in the United States. Subjects: shipping, ships, water transportation.
- National RTAP Rural Transit Assistance ProgramProvides support and resources in rural transit-related materials, including training modules, reports, and technical briefs. TRT terms: education and training, transit, tribal government.
- Pedestrian and Bicycle Information CenterProvides information and training to diverse audiences about health and safety, engineering, advocacy, education, enforcement, access, and mobility as it relates to pedestrians and bicyclists. This site is funded by the FHWA. Subjects:walking; pedestrians; bicycles, cycling; bicycles; bicyclists; nonmotorized transportation; walkways.
- Science.govProvides access to over 55 databases and over 2,100 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Subjects: science; technology; engineering; energy; environment; policy
- Transportation and Climate Change Clearinghouse- DOTDesigned as a one-stop source of information on transportation and climate change issues. It includes information on GHG inventories, analytic methods and tools, GHG reduction strategies, potential impacts of climate change on transportation infrastructure, and approaches for integrating climate change considerations into transportation decision making. Subjects: climate change; environmental policy; environmental protection; environmental impacts; environmental quality.
- Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA)Data, statistics, and reports on pipelines and the movement of hazardous materials in the United States. Also links to reports, statutes, and other documents. Includes the National Pipeline Mapping System. Subjects: hazardous materials, mapping, pipeline safety, pipelines
- National Work Zone Safety Information ClearinghouseA comprehensive information resource on roadway construction zone safety funded by FHWA. Subjects: work zone safety; work zone traffic control; construction safety.
Excerpted from Evans, Minotti, Post. & Sweet, "Literature Resources: Where to Search." in Literature Searches and Literature Reviews for Transportation Research Projects: How to Search, Where to Search, and How to Put It All Together: Current Practices.
- FAA Data and ResearchThis site provides accident and incident reports; aviation data and statistics; data on safety, passengers, and cargo; commercial space data; funding and grants; and aviation forecasts. Subjects: air traffic, air traffic control, air transportation, airlines, airport operations, air transportation policy, passenger service.
- TRB Research in Progress (RiP)Search current or recently completed transportation research projects from State Departments of Transportation, the U.S. Department of Transportation, university transportation centers and other US DOT funded universities.
- Transport Research PortalThe aim of this project is to foster a closer and more effective communication between researchers working in the field of transport technologies, both in the EU and internationally. It seeks to do this providing access to information from databases of past and ongoing research projects worldwide. Subjects: transportation; highways; air transportation; railroad transportation; research projects, water transportation; public transit; construction; maintenance; safety; policy
- U.S. DOT Research HubA searchable database of the latest USDOT-sponsored research, development and technology projects.
Excerpted from Evans, Minotti, Post. & Sweet, "Literature Resources: Where to Search." in Literature Searches and Literature Reviews for Transportation Research Projects: How to Search, Where to Search, and How to Put It All Together: Current Practices.
All Subjects
- Academic Search Complete
- Bureau of Transportation Statistics
- Data.gov
- Google Scholar
- LexisNexis
- Measurement of Government Financial Statistics
- NTIS–NTRL National Transportation Library Digital Repository
- National Transportation Statistics Practice-Ready Papers
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
- ProQuest Newsstand
- RiP Research Needs Statements
- Science.gov
- ScienceDirect
- Scopus
- State Transportation Statistics
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
- Transportation Library Collections
- Transportation Research Board Directory
- Transportation Statistics Annual Report
- TransWeb
- TRB Publications Index
- TRID
- U.S. DOT Research Hub
- Web of Science
Alcohol Use
- FARS
- PubMed–MEDLINE
- PsycINFO
Aviation
- Academic Search Complete
- AIAA Electronic Library
- Bureau of Transportation Statistics
- FAA Data and Research
- IATA
- National Transportation Library Digital Repository
- National Transportation Safety Board
- NTIS–NTRL
- Practice-Ready Papers
- RiP Research Needs Statements
- Scopus
- TRB Publications Index
- TRID
- Web of Science
Behavior
- Journey to Work and Place of Work
- National Household Travel Survey
- National Transportation Library Digital Repository
- PubMed–MEDLINE
- Practice-Ready Papers
- PsycINFO
- Research Needs Statements
- RiP
- Transport Research Portal
- TRB Publication Index
- TRID
Bicycles
- ERIC
- FARS
- National Transportation Library Digital Repository
- Pedestrian and Bicycle Information Center
- Practice Ready Papers
- RiP
- Research Needs Statements
- TRB Publications Index
- TRID
Biophysics
- PubMed–MEDLINE
Bridges
- ASCE Library
- Civil Engineering Database
- Compendex
- National Bridge Inventory Database
- National Transportation Library Digital Repository
- Practice Ready Papers
- RiP
- Research Needs Statements
- TRID
- TRB Publications Index
Buses
- Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration–Data, Analysis and Statistics
- National Transit Database
Businesses
- ABI–Inform
- LexisNexis
- ProQuest Newsstand
Census
- Census Transportation Planning Products
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
Climate Change
- National Transportation Library Digital Repository
- Practice Ready Papers
- RiP
- Research Needs Statements
- Transportation and Climate Change Clearinghouse
- TRB Publications Index
- TRID
Commodities
- ABI–Inform
- Commodity Flow Survey
- Freight Analysis Framework
- LexisNexis
- Waterborne Commerce Statistics Center
Commuting
- Congestion Data for Your City
- Journey to Work and Place of Work
- National Household Travel Survey
- Urban Mobility Information
Construction
- ASCE Library
- Civil Engineering Database
- Compendex
- Estimating Information: Average Low Bid Unit Price
- Life-Cycle Benefit–Cost Analysis Model
- LTAP Clearinghouse
- National Transportation Library Digital Repository
- Practice Ready Papers
- Research Needs Statements
- RiP
- TRB Publications Index
- TRID
- The Work Zone Safety Clearinghouse
Control
- IEEE Xplore
- INSPEC
Crashes
- Bureau of Transportation Statistics
- FARS
- FMCSA–Data, Analysis and Statistics
- Highway Safety Information System
- Motor Vehicle Accidents and Fatalities
- National Automotive Sampling System
- Safety Data.gov
- SafetyLit
- State Data System
- State Traffic Safety Information
Directories
- AASHTO Committees
- FHWA Experts Directory
- TRB Directory
Distraction
- FARS
- Medline
- Motor Vehicle Accidents and Fatalities
- PsycINFO
Drivers
- BTS
- Congestion Data for Your City
- FARS Highway Safety Information System
- Highway Statistics
- Medline
- Motor Vehicle Accidents and Fatalities
- National Transportation Library Digital Repository
- Practice-Ready Papers
- PsycINFO
- RiP
- Research Needs Statements
- Safety Data.gov
- State Data System
- State Traffic Safety Information
- TRB Publications Index
- TRID
Drug Use
- Medline
- PsycINFO
Economic and Social factors
- National Transportation Statistics
- State Transportation Statistics
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
- Transportation Statistics Annual Report
- TranStats
Economics
- IATA
- Life-Cycle Benefit–Cost Analysis Model
- Measurement of Government Transportation Financial Statistics
Education and Training
- ERIC
- LTAP Clearinghouse
Energy
- Annual Energy Review
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
- Google Scholar
- Monthly Energy Review
- NTIS–NTRL
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
- Science.gov
- ScienceDirect
- Scopus
- Web of Science
Engineering
- NTIS–NTRL
- Science.gov
- Scopus
- TRID
Environment
- Air Pollutant Emissions Trends
- Annual Energy Review
- ASCE Library
- CAFE Fuel Economy
- Compendex
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
- Google Scholar
- IHS Fairplay Bespoke Maritime Data Services
- Monthly Energy Review
- National Emissions Inventory
- National Transportation Library Digital Repository
- National Transportation Statistics
- NTIS–NTRL
- Practice-Ready Papers
- RiP
- Research Needs Statements
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
- Science.gov
- ScienceDirect
- Scopus
- Transportation and Climate Change Clearinghouse
- Transportation Energy Data Book
- Transportation Statistics Annual Report
- Web of Science
- TranStats
- TRB Publication Index
- TRID
Fatalities
- FARS Highway Statistics
- Motor Vehicle Accidents and Fatalities
Finance
- Highway Statistics
- Measurement of Government Transportation Financial Statistics
- Transportation Statistics Annual Report
Freight Transportation
- ABI–Inform
- AAR
- BTS Commodity Flow Survey
- Congestion Data for Your City
- Data Sources Related to Freight
- FMCSA–Data, Analysis and Statistics
- FRA E-library
- FRA Office of Safety Analysis
- Freight Analysis Framework
- LexisNexis
- National Transportation Library Digital Repository
- TRID
Fuel Consumption
- Annual Energy Review
- CAFE Fuel Economy
- Congestion Data for Your City
- Transportation Energy Data Book
Groups
- AASHTO Committees
- FHWA Experts Directory
- TRB Directory
Harbors
- ASCE Library
- Civil Engineering Database
- National Transportation Library Digital Repository
- TRID
- Waterborne Commerce Statistics Center
Hazardous Materials
- CFS FMCSA–Data, Analysis, and Statistics
- Motor Carrier Management Information System
- U.S. DOT Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration
Highway Design
- Context-Sensitive Solutions
- National Transportation Library Digital Repository
- Practice-Ready Papers
- Research Needs Statements
- RiP
- TRB Publication Index
- TRID
Highway Engineering
- ASCE Library
- Civil Engineering Database
- Compendex
- National Transportation Library Digital Repository
- Practice-Ready Papers
- RiP
- Research Needs Statements
- Scopus
- TRB Publications Index
- TRID
- Web of Science
Highway Safety
- FARS
- Highway Safety Information System
- National Automotive Sampling System
- National Transportation Library Digital Collection
- NTSB
- Practice-Ready Papers
- RiP
- Research Needs Statements
- Safety Data.gov
- State Data System
- State Traffic Safety Information
- TRB Publications Index
- TRID
Highway Travel
- BTS
- Data Sources Related to Freight
- Highway Statistics
- Journey to Work and Place of Work
- Urban Mobility Information
Highways
- LTAP Clearinghouse
- National Transportation Library Digital Repository
- Practice-Ready Papers
- RiP
- Research Need Statements
- TRB Publications Index
- TRID
Human Factors
- National Transportation Library Digital Repository
- Practice-Ready Papers
- RiP
- Research Needs Statements
- SAE Digital Library
- SafetyLit
- TRB Publications Index
- TRID
- Web of Science
Industries
- ABI–Inform
- LexisNexis
Information Technology
- IEEE Xplore
- INSPEC
Injuries
- FARS
- National Automotive Sampling System
- SafetyLit
Intelligent Transportation Systems
- IEEE Xplore
- INSPEC
- National Transportation Library Digital Repository
- Practice-Ready Papers
- RiP
- Research Needs Statements
- Scopus
- TRB Publications Index
- TRID
Law Enforcement
- SafetyLit
- Legislation Council of State Governments Knowledge Center
- LexisNexis
Logistics
- ProQuest Newsstand
- LexisNexis
Maintenance
- LTAP Clearinghouse
- National Transportation Library Digital Repository
- Practice-Ready Papers
- RiP
- Research Needs Statements
- TRB Publications Index
- TRID
Markets
- ABI–Inform
- ProQuest Newsstand
Materials
- AIAA Electronic Library
- ASCE Library
- Civil Engineering Database
- Compendex
- Practice-Ready Papers
- Research Needs Statements
- RiP
- TRB Publications Index
- TRID
Motor Carriers
- FMCSA–Data, Analysis, and Statistics
- Motor Carrier Management Information System News
- LexisNexis
- ProQuest Newsstand
Pavements
- ASCE Library
- Civil Engineering Database
- Compendex
- National Transportation Library Digital Repository
- NTIS–NTRL
- Practice-Ready Papers
- RiP
- Research Needs Statements
- TRB Publications Index
- TRID
Pedestrians
- ERIC
- Pedestrian and Bicycle Information Center
- TRB Publications Index
- TRID
Perception
- PsycINFO
- PubMed/MEDLINE
Persons and Personal Characteristics
-
Census Transportation Planning Products
- National Household Travel Survey
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
Pipelines
- ASCE Library
- Civil Engineering Database
- Compendex
- NTSB
- TRID
- U.S. DOT Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration
Planning
- Academic Search Complete
- Context-Sensitive Solutions
- Google Scholar
- National Transportation Library
- Practice-Ready Papers
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
- RiP
- Research Needs Statements
- Scopus
- TRB Publication Index
- TRID
- Web of Science
- TRID
Policy
- LexisNexis
- National Transportation Library Digital Repository
- Science.gov
- Practice-Ready Papers
- RiP
- Research Needs Statements
- TRB Publications Index
Public Transit
- National Transportation Library Digital Repository
- Practice-Ready Papers
- Research Needs Statements
- RiP
- TRB Publications Index
- TRID
Railroad Transportation
- AAR
- BTS
- FRA E-library
- FRA Office of Safety Analysis
- National Transit Database
- National Transportation Library Digital Repository
- NTSB
- TRID
- TRB Publications Index
Regulation
- FRA E-library
- LexisNexis
Road Construction
- Estimating Information: Average Low Bid Unit Price
- Life-Cycle Benefit–Cost Analysis Model
- National Transportation Library Digital Repository
- Practice-Ready Papers
- RiP Research Needs Statements
- TRB Publications Index
- TRID
Safety
- Boating Safety Resource Center
- FAA Data and Research
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
- FARS
- FMCSA–Data, Analysis, and Statistics
- FRA Office of Safety Analysis
- Google Scholar
- Highway Safety Information System
- Motor Carrier Management Information System
- Motor Vehicle Accidents and Fatalities
- National Automotive Sampling System
- National Transportation Library Digital Repository
- NTSB
- National Transportation Statistics
- Practice-Ready Papers
- RiP
- Research Needs Statements
- Safety Data.gov
- SafetyLit
- ScienceDirect
- Scopus State Traffic Safety Information
- State Transportation Statistics Transportation Statistics Annual Report
- TRB Publications Index
- TRID
- Web of Science
School Safety
- ERIC
- ScienceDirect
Science
- Science.gov
Shipping
- Motor Carrier Management Information System
- U.S. DOT Maritime Administration
Ships
- Boating Safety Resource Center
- U.S. DOT Maritime Administration
- Waterborne Commerce Statistics Center
Specialists
- AASHTO Committees
- FHWA Experts Directory
- TRB Directory
State Government
- Council of State Governments Knowledge Center
Taxation
- Highway Statistics
Technology
- Science.gov
Trade
- CFS
- Data Sources Related to Freight
- Freight Analysis Framework
- Monthly Energy Review
- ProQuest Newsstand
- LexisNexis
Traffic Congestion
- Congestion Data for Your City
- Urban Mobility Information
Traffic Engineering
- Compendex
- INSPEC
- National Transportation Library Digital Collection
- Practice-Ready Papers
- RiP
- Research Needs Statements
- Scopus
- TRB Publications Index
- TRID
- Web of Science
Transportation Modes
- BTS
- Data Sources Related to Freight
- National Household Travel Survey
- National Transit Database
- National Transportation Atlas Database
- State Transportation Statistics
- TranStats
- TRID
Transportation Operations
- CAFE Fuel Economy
- Freight Analysis Framework
- Journey to Work and Place of Work
- National Transportation Atlas Database
- National Transportation Statistics
- State Transportation Statistics
- TranStats
Tunnels
- ASCE Library
- Civil Engineering Database
- Practice-Ready Papers
- RiP
- TRB Publications Index
- TRID
Vehicle Electronics
- IEEE Explore
- INSPEC
Vehicles
- CAFE Fuel Economy
Water Transportation
- Boating Safety Resource Center
- BTS
- National Transportation Library Digital Collection
- NTSB
- RiP
- TRB Publications Index
- TRID
- U.S. DOT Maritime Administration Waterborne Commerce Statistics Center
Work Zone Safety
- The Work Zone Safety Clearinghouse
- RiP
- TRB Publications Index
- TRID
Excerpted from Evans, Minotti, Post. & Sweet, "Literature Resources: Where to Search." in Literature Searches and Literature Reviews for Transportation Research Projects: How to Search, Where to Search, and How to Put It All Together: Current Practices.
There are several resources wherein a researcher would be able to find information on any of the modes listed in this index. Those resources are listed below under the initial heading All Modes.
All Modes
- Academic Search Complete
- BTS
- Data.gov
- Google Scholar
- Google Transportation Meta Search
- LexisNexis
- Measurement of Government Financial Statistics
- NTIS–NTRL
- National Transportation Library Digital Repository
- National Transportation Statistics
- Practice-Ready Papers
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
- ProQuest Newsstand
- RiP
- Research Needs Statements
- Science.gov
- ScienceDirect
- Scopus
- State Transportation Statistics
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
- Transport Research Portal
- TRB Directory
- Transportation Statistics Annual Report
- TranWeb
- TRB Publications Index
- TRID
- U.S. DOT Research Hub
- Web of Science
Aviation
- AASHTO Committees
- Aerospace Research Center
- ASCE Library
- FAA Data and Research
- IEEE Xplore
- IATA
- National Transportation Atlas Database
- NTSB
- Transportation Energy Data Book
- TranStats
Freight Transportation
- AASHTO Committees
- Annual Energy Review
- CAFE–Fuel Economy
- Commodity Flow Survey
- FMCSA–Data, Analysis, and Statistics
- Freight Analysis Framework
- Freight Analysis Framework State Profiles
- Motor Carrier Management Information System
- National Emissions Inventory (NEI) Air Pollutant Emission Trends Data
- National Transportation Atlas Database
- Transportation Energy Data Book
- TranStats
Marine Transportation
- AASHTO Committees
- ASCE Library
- Boating Safety Resource Center
- National Transportation Atlas Database
- Marine Transportation
- NTSB
- Transportation Energy Data Book
- TranStats
- U.S. DOT Maritime Administration
- Waterborne Commerce Statistics Center
Motor Carriers
- Commodity Flow Survey
- FMCSA–Data, Analysis, and Statistics
- NEI Air Pollutant Emission Trends Data
- NTSB
- Transportation Meta Search
- TranStats
- Urban Mobility Information
Passenger Transportation
- AASHTO Committees
- Annual Energy Review
- CAFE–Fuel Economy
- CTPP
- Congestion Data for Your City
- Environmental Science and Pollution Management
- FARS
- FHWA Research Expertise Directory
- INSPEC
- ITE Technical Information
- Journey to Work and Place of Work
- Motor Vehicle Accidents and Fatalities
- National Automotive Sampling System
- NEI Air Pollutant Emission Trends Data
- NHTSA
- National Household Travel Survey
- National Rural Transit Assistance Program
- NTSB
- PsycINFO
- PubMed/MEDLINE
- SAE Digital Library
- SafetyLit
- State Data System
- State Traffic Safety Information
- Transportation and Climate Change Clearinghouse
- Transportation Energy Data Book
- TranStats
- Urban Mobility Information
Pedestrians and Bicycles
- AASHTO Committees
- ITE Technical Information
- NEI Air Pollutant Emission Trends Data
- NTSB
- Pedestrian and Bicycle Information Center
- PubMed/MEDLINE
- TranStats
- U.S. DOT Research Hub
Pipelines
- Environmental Science and Pollution Management
- National Transportation Atlas Database
- NTSB
- Transportation Meta Search
- TranStats
- U.S. DOT Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration
Public Transportation
- AASHTO Committees
- Annual Energy Review
- Boating Safety Statistics
- CTPP
- FRA E-Library
- IHS Jane’s Transportation News and Reference
- IEEE Xplore
- Journey to Work and Place of Work
- Life-Cycle Benefit–Cost Analysis Model
- NEI Air Pollutant Emission Trends Data
- National Household Travel Survey
- National Rural Transit Assistance Program
- National Transit Database
- National Transportation Atlas Database
- NTSB
- RiP
- Transportation Energy Data Book
- TranStats
Railroads
- AASHTO Committees
- AAR
- FRA Office of Safety Analysis
- FRA E-Library
- National Transportation Atlas Database
- NTSB
- Transportation Energy Data Book
- TranStats
Seminal works are key works in a field: articles, books, or other texts that are introduce new knowledge in a particular field. You'll see them cited over and over again as you go about your literature review.
Northcentral University has compiled a guide to finding seminal works, together with a workshop on finding seminal research that can be viewed online.
Two additional key resources are Scopus and Web of Science, two interdisciplinary databases that allow for sorting of results by the number of citations of a particular article.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources. Subject coverage : Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering ; Life and Health Sciences ; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics ; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.
Once you perform your search, you will see a drop-down menu at the right of the screen that allows for sorting by a number of different options, including "cited by." Selecting this option will rank you results in order of the number of times each has been cited.
Web of Science
Web of Science offers multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Powerful tools allow you to search and see what articles in the database have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
In addition to sorting by times cited, this database offers tools for analyzing search results and creating citation reports.
