Workshop of Andrea del Verrochio
Madonna and Child
Tempera and gold on wood
ca. 1470
We have art so that we do not perish from truth -- Nietzsche
Articles in NUSearch
NUsearch, the libraries' discovery system, which includes the library catalog, also has thousands of article citations. In a simple search of the "catalog" you will discover many articles containing your keywords.
To exclude articles from your search, change the NUsearch box to "Books & Multimedia."
To see only articles, change the Nusearch box to "Articles."
Art Databases
The library maintains subscriptions to 72 art and architecture-related databases. In addition to providing access to many of our electronic journal subscriptions, databases can draw from multiple reference points. As a result, some databases present a wide breadth of information collected from varying sources, while others are more tightly focused on a given topic.
- From the library homepage
- Select Find, Borrow Request, then Databases A-Z
- In the All Subjects drop-down, select Art & Architecture
Popular art & architecture databases include:
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window Art & Architecture Source provides indexing and abstracting for journals, magazines and books covering topics, including art in all media, art history and criticism, architecture, archaeology, museum studies, graphic arts and advertising, product design, interior design, costume and set design, and television, video, & film from all parts of the world and all periods of time. Covers sources from 1914 to the present with selected full text.
- ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window Indexing and abstracting for journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Coverage is international and includes modern and contemporary art forms, both famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicalsindexesarticles published in U.S. and foreign journals 1930-present coveringinternational, scholarly and popular periodical literature on the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia. It also provides citation records for architects' obituaries.Subjects include architecture, city planning, conservation and restoration, interior design, museums, and sustainable design.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window The online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window This resource is a bibliography of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Included are citations for books, journal articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies. Also included are citations for dissertation abstracts and essays in books.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Digitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window Periodicals Archive Online is a full text archive of millions of articles published in over 700 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, in English and other Western European languages. Coverage is from 1802 to 2005.
The full list of art and architecture databases can be found here.
Online Art Journals
The library has access to a large number of electronic journals in art, design, architecture and related fields. Specific titles can be found in two ways:
- Searching for the journal title in NUSearch on the library homepage
- Enter the journal title or ISSN in the search box
- In the search results, look for your title and "Online Access"
- Advanced search options allow you to search specifically for Journal Titles, and to limit your search results according to different parameters such as language or date.
- We have access to many journals through our full text databases, rather than by direct subscription. Search in Art and Architecture Source and JSTOR for access to some of the best access to art journal literature online.
It's important to note that online coverage is not always complete. Several factors, especially licensing agreements and publication status, will determine how much of a title is electronically available, and that information will be noted in the search reults. If you require specific issues or articles that are not available through Northwestern, you can submit your request through Inter-Library Loan, which will then attempt to locate the information from another library. See Other Resources for more information on ILL.
Print Art Journals
The Art Library subscribes to over 75 domestic and international art & architecture journals which are available only in print format. Topics include art history, art criticism, art theory and practice, and the contemporary art world. Current issues are found in Periodicals on the first floor of the University Library, and bound volumes of back issues are in the art and architecture reading rooms. the Art Library also has extensive holdings of historical journals in both art and architecture, extending to the mid-19th century.
|
|