Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using These Tools
These materials can provide a source of background information as well as additional readings. They can also be a good place to start when you are beginning research in an area you are unfamiliar with.
The International Handbooks of Museum Studies by
Publication Date: 2015-07-20
The International Handbooks of Museum Studies bring together original essays by a global team of experts to provide a state-of-the-art survey of the field of museum studies. Offers unprecedented depth of coverage and breadth of scholarship in this interdisciplinary field Accessibly structured into four thematic volumes exploring all aspects of museum theory, practice, controversies, and the impact of new technologies Includes a treasure trove of examples and original case studies. Features original essays by an international team, including leading academics and practitioners, as well as up-and-coming names in the field. Provides an indispensable resource for the study of the development, roles, and significance of museums in contemporary society.
Searchable database of several hundred subject encyclopedias and other reference works across all subject areas, but with particular strengths in the social sciences and humanities. It includes a number of major reference works, and is Northwesterns largest single collection of reference materials. A good source for authoritative background information.
Wiley Online Library
Provides full text access to journals, reference works, books, and databases published by Wiley in all the science disciplines. Northwestern University Library access varies by title. Wiley Online Library replaces the resource known as Wiley InterScience Publications or Wiley InterScience Journals.