About this Guide
This guide represents a selection of resources available through Northwestern University's Transportation Library. It is not intended to be all-inclusive, but a starting point in helping to guide your research. Please contact a librarian for additional assistance or inquiries about collections, items, or subjects.
Inland Water Pamphlets
Canadian National Steamers. A scenic trip to Canada, Niagara Falls across Lake Ontario to Toronto, 1910s?
Digital and Archival Collections - Water Transportation
- David Toms CollectionThe David Toms Collection consists of 1,059 transportation-related items from 123 airlines and cruise lines. The collection primarily consists of airline menus and safety cards, with a strong secondary component of airline-related ephemera and cruise ship menus.
- Gary Gelzer Transportation CollectionThe Gary Gelzer Transportation Collection consists of 411 postcards, timetables, menus, and other materials related to 20th-century railroads, ships, and other modes of transportation.
- Inland Water PamphletsThe collection is arranged into 40 series, each representing a corporate body. It includes an additional miscellaneous series for materials not associated with a particular transportation company. The collection consists of brochures used to advertise recreational cruises, primarily those on the Great Lakes. Companies operating out of Chicago, Illinois are substantially represented in the collection.
- Transportation Library Photograph Collection, 1913-1955The Transportation Photograph Collection of the Northwestern University Transportation Library consists of 217 mounted silver gelatin prints in six bound volumes. The photographs are uncommon illustrations of automotive and maritime transportation spanning from the early to mid-20th century. The collection is multi-disciplinary in scope: beyond transportation, it touches on industrial design, engineering, social life, and local industry. Because of its focus on the early- to mid-20th century motor vehicle and shipping industries, the Collection presents an invaluable picture of transportation of the period.
Panama Canal
The Transportation Library holds a number of books, periodicals, annual reports, and other documents related to the construction and operation of the Panama Canal. Search for Panama Canal as a subject term, and, if desired, set date limits (pre-1915, for example, for works produced before and during the canal's construction), to find these resources. A few selected titles are shown in this section.
- Official handbook of the Panama canal, 1915 byCall Number: Oak Grove Library Center Oak Grove Library Center--Request OnlinePublication Date: 1915
- Observations on the Isthmus of Panama : as comprised in a paper read at a meeting of the Royal Geographical Society on the evening of the 12th February, 1844 : illustrated with a map of the various routes which have been proposed for connecting the two oc byCall Number: HE537.1 .W566 2012Publication Date: 1844
- Panama Canal RecordCall Number: Transportation Periodicals Lower Level Room B249Publication Date: v.15 (1921-1922)-v.34 (1940-1941)Published under the authority and supervision of the Isthmian Canal Commission, 1907-Mar. 1914; of the Panama Canal, Apr. 1914-1941.
Annual Reports of the Panama Canal Authority and Related Organizations. 1877-1999 (not inclusive). Transportation Library Collections HE537 .P187 / Annual Reports P187.5.