Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Museum websites: American Art Collections
Art Institute of Chicago
The Art Institute of Chicago, known online as www.artic.edu, provides access on its website to 95,000 items from all periods. Users can create a personal folder to save images in the Collections section of the website. At the homepage, go to Collections, American, to start your search.
Mary & Leigh Block Museum of Art at Northwestern University
This art museum is located on Northwestern's Evanston campus. Admission is free. The Block Museum celebrated its 35th year in 2015. Part of its collection is searchable online.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
The "Met" is the largest art museum in the United States. On the website go to Collections, Department, and see the categories of American Decorative Arts, and American Paintings and Sculpture.
Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago
All 2500 works of art from the MCA's permanent collection are searchable on the website.
Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
The online collection of American Art includes highlights of the permanent collections of American decorative arts and sculpture, miniatures, paintings, and African-American art.
Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, TX
The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, has over 350 images online from its American Painting & Sculpture collection.
Smithsonian American Art Museum
The United States' first collection of American art, the Smithsonian American Art Museum features more than 7000 artists.
Whitney Museum of American Art
The Whitney Museum's collection specializes in 20th century and contemporary art. There are 21,000 works viewable online.