Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
IR Institutional Review Board
Northwestern University's IRB Institutional Review Board Office is primarily responsible for developing and directing the University’s Human Subject Protection Program (HSPP). The HSPP mission is to be a model program of excellence in protecting the rights and welfare of human subjects involved in research. Consult the IRB for information on policies involving oral history research.
What is Oral History? Overviews
Oral History Defined (from the Oral History Association)
The Oral History Association (OHA) is the major oral history association in the United States, founded in 1966. OHA is a resource for all interested in oral history and provides information on best practices, preservation, goals, guidelines, and evaluation standards for oral history.
International Oral History Association (IOHA)
The International Oral History Association (IOHA) provides a forum forum for oral historians from around the world to communicate and collaborate.
Columbia Center for Oral History (CCOH)
The Columbia Center for Oral History (CCOH) was founded by historian and journalist Allan Nevins in 1948 and is credited with launching the establishment of oral history archives internationally. At over 10,000 interviews, the CCOH Archives is one of the largest oral history collections in the United States. The Columbia Center for Oral History Archives is housed at the Rare Book & Manuscript Library in Butler Library and is open to all.
Web Guides to Doing Oral History
This section is from the Oral History Association, and provides links to a variety of guides to conducting oral history, including tips on conducting interviews.
Capturing the Living Past: An Oral History Primer
Guide for conducting oral history, hosted by the Nebraska State Historical Society
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to the present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage but also included are abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. The database indexes academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.