Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Europe: A Selection of Databases
David Boder: Voices of the Holocaust
The mission of Voices of the Holocaust project is to provide a permanent digital archive of digitized, restored, transcribed, and translated interviews with Holocaust survivors conducted by Dr. David P. Boder in 1946, so that they can be experienced by a global audience of students, researchers, historians, and the general public.
Mass Observation Project: 1981-2009
The Mass Observation Project was launched in 1981 by the University of Sussex as a rebirth of the original 1937 Mass Observation, its founders' aim was to document the social history of Britain by recruiting volunteers to write about their lives and opinions. Still growing, it is one of the most important sources available for qualitative social data in the UK. This collection consists of the directives (questionnaires) sent out by Mass Observation in the 1980s and the thousands of responses to them from the hundreds of Mass Observers. The directives and responses from the 1990s and 2000s will follow in 2021 and 2022.
Mass Observation Online
This resource provides integrated access to hundreds of thousands digital images of material on British social history collected between 1937 and 1972 during a project called the Mass Observation. The archives include essays, photographs, file reports, diaries, day surveys and links to other sites.
Visual History Archive
USC Shoah Foundation Institute's Visual History Archive contains nearly 52,000 video testimonies of survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust taped in 56 countries and in 32 languages between 1994 and 1999.
Oral History of the European Union
The Historical Archives of the European Union is the repository for various oral history programmes, launched to preserve the voices of European politicians and officials. The Archives preserves the original recordings and written transcripts and makes these materials available for research.