Your Librarian
Subjects: Government Information; Regulatory Compliance; Gender & Sexuality Studies
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
Make an Appointment
Biographical Information
- American National Biography This link opens in a new windowThere is no need to sign in at website to access this resource. Begin searching or browsing for articles.
The American National Biography is the premier, authoritative, historical biographical encyclopedia for the United States. Over 18,700 men and women are included, and the resource is updated quarterly with new entries and revisions of previously published entries to enhance their accuracy and currency. Articles are by established scholars. Living individuals are not included. - African American Biographical Database This link opens in a new windowFrom July 1, 2023 AABD became a component of ProQuest Black Studies Center.
Biographical sketches and essays on African Americans from 1790 to 1950. The Database corresponds to the printed Black Biographical Dictionaries. These sketches have been assembled from biographical dictionaries, yearbooks, directories, histories, personal accounts, and other published sources. The full text of 300 rare books is displayed and searchable in page images, intact with images and illustrations. - World Biographical Information System WBIS This link opens in a new windowOver 3.6 million short biographical entries for individuals who lived across the world from ancient times to the present. Includes full text images of the original sources, usually older biographical dictionaries. Especially valuable for locating information on hard-to-find individuals from the past.
Other Reference Sources
- Encyclopedia of ChicagoPrint edition available
977.311 E56 Main Reference (non-circulating) and Main stacks
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of several hundred subject encyclopedias and other reference works across all subject areas, but with particular strengths in the social sciences and humanities. It includes a number of major reference works, and is Northwesterns largest single collection of reference materials. A good source for authoritative background information.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowOnline version of many Oxford University Press reference works, ranging from specialized dictionaries and companions to major reference works such as the Encyclopedia of Human Rights, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States, and the Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History, among many others.
Print Resources: Chicago
Chicago statistical abstract: 1970 census Chicago (Ill.). Department of Development and Planning.
Main Library Reference (non-circulating) (Large 317.7311 C532c ) 6 volumes.
Chicago statistical abstract, 1980. Chicago : City of Chicago, Dept. of Planning.
Main Library Reference (Non-circulating) (317.7311 C532c 1980 ). 2 volumes.
Local community fact book: Chicago metropolitan area.
Main Library Reference (non-circulating) (Large 317.7311 L811 ) 1938,1949-1950,1960,1980,1990
Suburban factbook, 1950-1960 : a socio-economic data inventory for 100 municipalities in northeastern Illinois.
Main Library Reference Large 317.7311 N874s 1950-1960, 1962, 1973
Economic factbook for northeastern Illinois.
Chicago, Ill. : Northeastern Illinois Planning Commission, 1985, 1985 update.
317.732 N874e 1985 (request from Oak Grove)
Chicago since 1840 : a time-series data handbook
Wesley G. Skogan
Main Library Reference (Non-circulating) (Large 317.7311 S628c )
Census data of the city of Chicago, 1934,
Charles Shelton Newcomb ed.
Chicago, Ill., The University of Chicago press, ©1934
Main Library Reference (non-circulating) (312.773 N537 )
Census data of the city of Chicago, 1930,
E. W. Burgess (Ernest Watson), 1886-1966, ed.
Chicago, Ill., University of Chicago Press, 1933
Main Library Reference (non-circulating) (312.773 N537 1933 )
Census data of the city of Chicago, 1920
E. W. Burgess (Ernest Watson), 1886-1966, ed.
Chicago, Ill. : The University of Chicago press, 1931
Main Library Reference (non-circulating) (312.773 N537 1995 )
1934 Chicago census data, supplementary tables, family statistics
Melvin L. Dollar
Chicago 975 E. 60th St. : Publisher not identified, 1942
Main Library Reference (non-circulating) (312.773 N537 sup. )
Vital statistics for Cook County & Chicago
Melvin L. Dollar
Chicago 975 E. 60th St. : Federal Works Agency, Work Projects Administration Illinois District No. 3, 1942
Main Library Reference (non-circulating) (312.773 U58v ) 3 volumes.
Community area data book for the city of Chicago; 1970 census data by 75 community areas.
Chicago Association of Commerce and Industry.
Main Library Reference (Non-circulating) (Large 312.77311 C532c )
1980 census reports, population.
Chicago: City of Chicago, Dept. of Planning, 1982-
Main Library Reference (non-circulating) (312.77311 N714 )