Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans andcan be cross-searched with African American Newspapers, Afro-Americana Imprints and other Archive of Americana collections. Publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
Ethnic NewsWatch indexes newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press, offering both national and regional coverage. Ethnic NewsWatch presents multi-ethnic and multi-cultural publications in one resource covering 1959-present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text
Citations from over 150 scholarly and popular journals of Black Studies, including 40 with full text articles.
Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. [Google Scholar Settings Library links to Northwestern University - Find it @ NU (you can choose up to five libraries)]:
Biggest and/or Best Indexes to Articles
Search worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Alternative Press Index
Subject index to over 300 alternative, left, and radical journals, newspapers, and magazines. The index is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.
Alternative Press Index Archive
Covers the period 1969 through to 1990.
America: History & Life
The major bibliographic reference resource to the history of the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 1,700 journals published worldwide; 90% of coverage is English-language history journals, plus selected journals from major countries, and state & local history journals. All abstracts are in English. Articles, monographs, media, reviews, and dissertations & theses included. Retrospective coverage from 1954.
American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection provides digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912, documenting the life of Americas people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction.
American Periodicals Series
Full text database of American periodicals that began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many more. For those periodicals that continued to publish after 1900, coverage is extended well into the 20th century.
Combining Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts, this resource offers content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields. Coverage goes back to 1915.
Database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature, including pedagogy, counseling and psychology. Covers 1966-present.
Online publisher for scholarly and professional journals in all subject areas.
Access to back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Articles have been digitized, providing full-image access to the complete runs of over 100 journals. JSTOR is an archive and does not include the current issues of journals nor the most recent four or five years.
MLA International Bibliography
Compiled by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography lists articles and books in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics in the modern languages, as well as folklore, film studies, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Music Magazine Archive
Music Magazine Archive: Rock, Folk and Rap/Hip Hop is a closed series of digital collections focused on music genres of the late 20th and early 21st centuries. Through the lens of music and music journalism, MMA draws together primary sources that support research in areas such as popular culture, history, material culture, gender studies, media studies, and more.
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) indexes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Coverage of political, social, and public policy issues from 1914 to present. International in scope with some materials in foreign languages.
The Philosopher's Index provides access to articles in the field of philosophy published in journals and books since 1940. For many years the standard index to the philosophical literature.
Provides current & recent access to the full text of more than 400 scholarly humanities, arts & social science journals. The complete content of each issue is online, including all charts, graphics and images.
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.
Abstracts & indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Content coverage includes culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, race and ethnicity, social change and economic development, and more. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage back to 1952.
Urban Studies Abstracts
Provides citations covering areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Covers1973-present.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books.Powerful tools allow you to search and see what articles in the database have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Citations with abstracts from more than 1,100 journals in political science and related disciplines. Coverage is international in scope, combining the former Political Science Abstracts and ABC POL SCI databases.
Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press
Digital material from the magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries spanning the 1960’s to the 1980’s. Starting with collections by feminists and the GI press, the collection will grow to include small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press. Includes materials from Northwestern University's Charles Deering McCormick Library of Special Collections.