Covering early periods of The Times of London and the New York Times, Historical Newspapers Online includes four separate files: Palmer's Index to The Times<(London) which covers the period from 1790 to 1905, with full text online articles from 1785 to 1870; The Official Index to The Times which takes the coverage forward from 1906 to 1980; The Historical Index to The New York Times which covers from 1851 to 1922; and a combined file which searches all three.
The Al-Ahram digital archive contains all obtainable published issues from 1875 on, with an additional year’s worth of content added on an annual basis. The archive offers scholars the most comprehensive collection available for this title, and features full page-level digitization, complete original graphics, and searchable text.
Founded in 1875, Al-Ahram (الأهرام, “The Pyramids”) is one of the longest-running newspapers in the Middle East. It has long been regarded as Egypt’s most authoritative and influential newspaper, and one of the most important newspapers in the Arab world, with a circulation of over 1 million. Prior to 1960, the newspaper was an independent publication and was renowned for its objectivity and independence. After being nationalized by President Nasser in 1960, Al-Ahram became the de facto voice of the Egyptian government and today the newspaper is managed by the Supreme Council of Press.
The collection contains runs of 24 colonial newspapers from Africa from 1821–1922. The collection is made up of publications created for distribution in Africa by indigenous rights groups, middle-class commercial entities in the colonies, businesses reliant on the colonial subjugation of the native populations, missionary groups, colonial administrators, and colonial advocates in learned societies in Europe.
East View and CRL have launched East African Newspapers, the second in-copyright collection of titles digitized under the Global Press Archive CRL Alliance, including more than 450,000 pages of in-copyright material from the 1940s to early 2000s, featuring:
· Daily Nation (1958-2002), an independent Kenyan newspaper
· Ethiopian Herald (1943-1989), a government-owned, English-language newspaper
· The Monitor (1992-2003), an independent Ugandan newspaper
East African Newspapers is available to all CRL members and other institutions supporting the Alliance.
Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages - from Arabic to Swahili - these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary.
From the Ottoman Empire to the Arab Spring, the countries of the Middle East and North Africa have stood at the crossroads of history. This resource includes publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present.
This is a searchable collection of 19th and 20th century historical newspapers from Latin America, Africa, and South Asia. This collection can be cross searched with the America's Historical Newspaper collection.