Call Number: MITCHELL MULTIMEDIA - 616.925 E163 dvd
Emerging Infectious Diseases by Felissa R. Lashley; Jerry D. DurhamThis new work updates the highly regarded first edition...and is equally excellent. It offers a wealth of timely information about a variety of emerging and reemerging infections...This is an excellent reference for anyone interested in emerging infections, and will be a valuable resource for health science students, especially those in nursing and public health....Highly recommended. Upper-level undergraduates through professionals/practitioners."--Choice Emerging, re-emerging, and antibiotic-resistant infectious diseases continue to increase at an alarming rate throughout the world. Written for a wide range of health professionals, particularly nurses, this revised edition provides a comprehensive and up-to-date overview of these diseases: their epidemiology, clinical manifestations, prevention, and treatment. With contributions by a multidisciplinary team of nurses, physicians, and infectious disease specialists, the book includes material on the most recent and important new emerging infectious diseases: Avian influenza and SARS Issues of demographics and microbial resistance Special topics, including bioterrorism Behavioral and cultural factors Infectious etiologies of chronic diseases Travel and recreational exposure Each chapter is amply illustrated with clinical case examples to demonstrate the pitfalls in differential diagnosis and elucidate proper management and treatment. Valuable appendices provide critical reference information for each of the bacterial, viral, fungal, and parasitic diseases.
Call Number: Main Library 616.9 E53
Publication Date: 2007-08-01
The Hot Zone by Richard PrestonA highly infectious, deadly virus from the central African rain forest suddenly appears in the suburbs of Washington, D.C. There is no cure. In a few days 90 percent of its victims are dead. A secret military SWAT team of soldiers and scientists is mobilized to stop the outbreak of this exotic "hot" virus.The Hot Zonetells this dramatic story, giving a hair-raising account of the appearance of rare and lethal viruses and their "crashes" into the human race. Shocking, frightening, and impossible to ignore,The Hot Zoneproves that truth really is scarier than fiction. From the Paperback edition.
Contains over a million articles from 100 news publications throughout Africa and from several hundred other sources, including governments, non-governmental organizations and other newsmakers, inside and outside of Africa.
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers It provides indexing for over 1,200 nursing journals and publications dating back to 1982.
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T offers comprehensive listings for U.S. doctoral dissertations back to 1861, with extensive coverage of dissertations from many non-U.S. institutions. A number of masters theses are also listed. Thousands of dissertations are available full text, and abstracts are included for dissertations from the mid-1980s forward.
One simultaneous user, click on " End Session" then close your browser to log out. Global Health is a public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and much more. This database contains more than 1.2 million records dating back to 1973.
Health and Society in Video provides hundreds of documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews related to the latest medical progress in health and wellness issues, as well as and their impact on society.
Digitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on public health, a field with a mission to assess, develop, and assure the health of a population. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Not all content is available full text to Northwestern community.
Searchable database that provides access to the content of journals and ebooks published from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.
The Premium Collection is MUSE's foremost collection of over 700 high quality, peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies.