Your librarian
Li (Qunying) Li
Contact:
(847) 491-3953
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston IL 60208
2 East, 2626
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston IL 60208
2 East, 2626
Find Articles
Find Articles
Indexes and databases track down articles in journals. Most of the databases include the full text of the article. If the article citations you find in the databases do not include full text, click on 
which searches across many other indexing databases and sources of full text articles to find electronic full text of the article, if it exists, in the NU Library electronic environment. will also lead to NUcat, the online catalog, if only a paper copy exists for the journal or periodical. If an item is not found in electronic or paper copy, a link to Interlibrary Loan will be given.
You can also locate the full article by directly searching on the journal title in NUcat. You can then check to see whether the library owns the journal or periodical and if so, what issues/dates are owned and in what format (hard copy, electronic, microtext).
Key Education Databases
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowDatabase sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature, including pedagogy, counseling and psychology. Covers 1966-present.
- Education Week (Online)Education Week content from 37 print editions published yearly is posted on this Web site as the newspaper is being mailed. In between issues, the Web site is updated daily with the latest news, research, and commentary from the K-12 world. All content becomes part of a searchable archive going back to 1981 of previously published content. The older content as well as the Web-only updates are exclusive to EdWeek.org and can’t be found in any other databases.
The Teacher channel providing a lively forum for news, information, and opinion for practitioners. You’ll also find practical teaching tips as well as professional development advice. Special, in-depth reports on Curriculum and Instruction , Classroom Management , Diversity , Assessment, Accountability, Achievement , Inside Classroom Management- Ideas & Solutions , Common Standards , Discipline , E-Learning , Early Childhood , School Climate, Health and Student Life , Special Education , Politics and Policy and much more. Digital Directions which keeps you current on how technology is impacting classroom learning and school management. The Research Center which conducts annual policy surveys, collects data, and performs annual analysis. The Center also manages a database of state policy indicators. Exclusive online-only content, including 50 blogs on vitally important K-12 topics. Multimedia tools, including videos & infographics and photo galleries.
- Education in Video This link opens in a new windowEducation in Video provides a collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Includes teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new windowThe database provides a highly specialized collection of electronic information especially for professional educators. This collection offers information on everything from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice.
- Education Abstracts This link opens in a new windowEducation Abstracts brings you comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Covers 1983-present.
Related Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new windowSearch worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDigitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
- Primary Search This link opens in a new windowPrimary Search contains full text for more than 50 popular, elementary school magazines. Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals, and features the Funk + Wagnall's New Encyclopedia, which provides easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. This database also provides the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and an Image Collection of 91,000 photos, maps and flags.
- Children's Literary ReviewFrom Louisa May Alcott to Judy Blume, the most popular and influential authors of the genre are assessed through criticism of their major works.
- Something About the Author This link opens in a new windowAccess to content of v. 1 (1971)-v. 349 (early 2020).
Something About the Author offers authoritative overviews of authors and illustrators for children and young adults, with over 12,000 entries, and nearly 17,000 images. - Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowProvides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analayses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, essayist, poets, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Includes links to: Dictionary of literary biography, Contemporary authors, Contemporary literary criticism, and more.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowWith more than 2 million entries, PQD&T offers comprehensive listings for U.S. doctoral dissertations back to 1861, with extensive coverage of dissertations from many non-U.S. institutions. A number of masters theses are also listed. Thousands of dissertations are available full text, and abstracts are included for dissertations from the mid-1980s forward.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books.Powerful tools allow you to search and see what articles in the database have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
- Sage Campus This link opens in a new window
NOTE: Initial access requires registration with Northwestern email address.
Registered user can access from anywhere at: https://classroom.sagepub.comSage Campus supports the teaching and learning of skills and research methods through 280+ hours of structured online learning. Our online courses are self-paced and instructor-led, comprising an engaging mix of Sage-quality content, video, interactives, and formative assessments. The topics cover critical skills and research methods for across all stages of academic study; navigating information, data literacy, research skills, data science skills, and getting published.
- Sage Research Methods Core This link opens in a new windowSAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. – Publisher