Librarian
Geoff Morse
Contact:
Geoff Morse
Liaison for American Studies, History, Jewish Studies, and Religious Studies
Interim Head, Research Services
Room 2624
2nd floor, east tower
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, Illinois 60208-2300
phone: 847-467-1866
gmorse@northwestern.edu
For more library assistance please see the Library web site.
Liaison for American Studies, History, Jewish Studies, and Religious Studies
Interim Head, Research Services
Room 2624
2nd floor, east tower
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, Illinois 60208-2300
phone: 847-467-1866
gmorse@northwestern.edu
For more library assistance please see the Library web site.
Newspapers available through publisher
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowINITIAL REGISTRATION, (https://www.nytimes.com/activate-access/edu-access)
• Requires initial registration with Northwestern email address (enter and select "Northwestern University - Evanston, Illinois"). Follow directions for registration while on or off campus.
• Subsequent access requires login at nytimes.com site with that email and password using any device.
• Existing paid New York Times subscribers must cancel their paid subscription before authenticating via Northwestern Library's subscription (if a Northwestern email address was used for the personal subscription).
- Wall Street journalDirect access to publisher website.
Initial access requires personal registration with Northwestern email address. Subsequent access requires login with netid and password..
Most recent four years available.
Newspapers available through databases
Current content
Historical content
- Chinese Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new windowThis historical newspaper collection provides online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of China during the id-19th through early 20th Century.
- Chinese Newspaper in Modern China : Tabloids, 1897-1949 This link opens in a new windowCNBKSY has selected over 400 titles of tabloids featuring approximately 400,000 pages in total and published them in four series. These individual tabloids were published during 1897-1949, mostly in Shanghai, China.
- North China Herald This link opens in a new windowFull-text searchable database that features the history of foreign presence in China from around 1850 to the 1940s. Provides translations of Chinese official notifications and news, trade statistics, stock prices, essays on Chinese culture and language, law reports from foreign courts in the settlements, company reports, maps, cartoons, photographs, and lots of other related topics.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThe ProQuest Historical Newspaper collection includes access to 35 different titles. The newspapers in this collection consist of a selection of major US Dailies from the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries, historical Black titles from the same period, and a small selection of international titles and two American Jewish publications. Titles can be searched together or individually. For a list of individual titles with links to search them please see Individual ProQuest Historical Newspaper titles.