Skip to Main Content

Exhibit Planning Guide

The following guide is intended to support Northwestern students, staff, faculty, and independent researchers consulting collections from the McCormick Library to curate displays, pop-up exhibits, and digital exhibits.

Research

An exhibit should go beyond simply displaying items. Items should be contextualized and collectively, the exhibit should convey a message. Therefore, conducting research is an important step for getting context, informing curatorial decisions, and clarifying your focus.  

Research consultation

If you plan on using collections from the McCormick Library for your exhibit research, we suggest that you schedule a research consultation with staff. 

  • To do this, you can write an e-mail that describes your project and the topics you want to explore. 

  • The staff will then be able to assist you in identifying relevant collections, connect you with subject matter experts, and help you access the collections.  

  • It is important to note that not all collections are cataloged or have a finding aid, but staff can help you identify relevant materials. 

  • To schedule a consultation, you can contact specialcollections@northwestern.edu or a curator. 

Research tips

In preparation for your research visit, consider developing a few guiding questions. Here are a few examples:

  • What are you curious about?
  • Is there an overarching question you are trying to answer?
  • Are you seeking particular information such as piecing together chronology, identifying names of key figures, or exploring various perspectives?  
  • Create any specific research questions that pertain to your project.

 

When analyzing sources, here are a few questions to consider: 

Analyzing Sources

Here are some questions to keep in mind when analyzing primary sources: 

  • Who is the author or creator?
  • When was the primary source created?
  • Who was the intended audience? 
  • What biases or assumptions may have influenced the author or creator?
  • What was going on historically when this source was created?
  • What was the significance of the source at the time it was created?
  • What are some limitations of the source?
  • How does this source relate to other sources you're consulting? 
  • Is this source reliable?
  • Does your understanding of the source fit with scholar's interpretations, or does it challenge their argument? 

 

Here are some tips and things to keep in mind when conducting your research: 

  • When beginning your research, it can be helpful to survey the collection before you start taking notes or drawing conclusions. 
  • The research phase can feel like a journey, and it may take some time to find what you are looking for.
  • It is possible that the materials you consult might spark new questions and lead you to view other sources. It is important to be flexible and give yourself plenty of time for this phase of the project.  

  • To make your research process more efficient, it is helpful to organize your notes and scans from the beginning. Make sure to include the names of the collection titles, boxes, and folders you consulted in case you need to return to them later.

  • If the sources are not addressing all of your research questions, ask McCormick Library staff for support. It is possible that they can recommend additional collections, either within the McCormick Library or externally.

  • You may also consider interviewing individuals linked to your topic as a means of addressing gaps in your research findings.