Your Librarian
Geoff Morse
Contact:
Geoff Morse
Liaison for American Studies, History, Jewish Studies, and Religious Studies
Interim Head, Research Services
Room 2624
2nd floor, east tower
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, Illinois 60208-2300
phone: 847-467-1866
gmorse@northwestern.edu
For more library assistance please see the Library web site.
Liaison for American Studies, History, Jewish Studies, and Religious Studies
Interim Head, Research Services
Room 2624
2nd floor, east tower
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, Illinois 60208-2300
phone: 847-467-1866
gmorse@northwestern.edu
For more library assistance please see the Library web site.
Background Information (encyclopedias, dictionaries, bibliographies, annual reviews)
Encyclopedia of American Environmental History
byISBN: 9781438132679Publication Date: 2010This resource provides good overview essays on most topics related to environmental history in the US. A few examples of the essays included are: Energy, fossil fuel, Oil, imported, Greenhouse effect, “Principles of Conservation” Gifford Pinchot (1910), South Coast Air Quality Management District
Encyclopedia of Environmental Change
byISBN: 9781446264881Publication Date: 2013Provides an introduction to facts, concepts, techniques, methodology and philosophy of environmental change. Entries are fairlt short but include citations to additional sources. Examples of entries include include Afforestation, Carbon Sink/Source, Energy Recovery, , and Rates of Environmental Change.
Renewable Energy and Climate Change, 2nd Edition
byCall Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781119514886Publication Date: 2019This reference book provides essays on a variety of topics related to renewable energy. Examples include: From Wasting Energy to Saving Energy and Reducing Carbon Dioxide, Geothermal Energy - Power from the Deep, and Our Hunger for Energy.
Encyclopedia of global warming & climate change
byCall Number: Available online.ISBN: 1412992621Publication Date: 2012Covers the science and history of climate change, the controversies over climate-change theories, the role of societies, the industrial and economic factors, and the sociological aspects of climate change. Entries include Global Warming, Attribution of, Methane Cycle,Wisconsin, and Species Extinction.
Encyclopedia of Science,Technology and Ethics
byCall Number: Available Online.ISBN: 9780028658315Publication Date: 2005This Encyclopedia considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society. Some example entries include Alternative Energy, Animal Rights, and Environmental Ethics.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowThe Annual Reviews provide substantially researched articles written by recognized scholars in a wide variety of disciplines that summarize the major research literature in the field. These are often a good place to start your research and to keep informed about recent developments.
For access to more subject specific reference materials see Gale eBooks.