Resources for All Groups (A B C D)
- NUsearchClick the NUsearch link to search the NU Library's online catalog.
- Error messages when logging into databasesIf you receive an error message (e.g. "forbidden," "bad request," etc.) when logging into NU databases, try clearing your browser cache and cookies and then refreshing your page. Click the link to find quick steps for all browser types.
- EPAWebsite of the United States Environmental Protection Agency with information on key topics and links to climate change resources.
- Google ScholarTo link Google Scholar to NU Library on your device: See top left Google Scholar page menu (three horizontal lines) > Settings > Library links > type in Northwestern > hit Save.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
- New York TimesClick the link for access to current New York Times newspaper content.
- United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)"UNEP is the leading global environmental authority that sets the global environmental agenda, promotes the coherent implementation of the environmental dimension of sustainable development within the United Nations system, and serves as an authoritative advocate for the global environment. UNEP works to support the world to transition to a low-carbon, sustainable future." -- UN website
- Wall Street JournalClick the link for access to The Wall Street Journal newspaper.
Group A: Protecting Biodiversity and Fragile Ecosystems
- "A Silent Victim: How Nature Becomes a Casulty of War"New York Times article on how war is affecting the environment in Ukraine.
- "Environmental Damages due to War in Ukraine"From the journal Science of the Total Environment this article details how the war with Russia has affected Ukraine's environment. Features graphical illustrations that highlights short-term and long-term consequences.
- "Native Americans' Farming Practices May Help Feed a Warming World"Washington Post article on how indigenous people in Arizona are using centuries old practices to farm responsibly.
- "How Deregulation, Drought and Increasing Fire Impact Amazonian BiodiversityNature magazine explains how deforestation is limiting biodiversity in the Amazon.
- Vanishing BiodiversityA chapter on Vanishing Biodiversity in CQ Researcher.
Group B: Consumerism and Overconsumption
- Fast Fashion (streaming video)"This film explores the bad practices of the textile industry, the most polluting industry in the world after oil." --publisher
- How Fast Fashion is GreenwashingA post on the Sense & Sustainability blog, published by Newstext.
- United Nations Sustainable Development Goal 12."The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), also known as the Global Goals, were adopted by the United Nations in 2015 as a universal call to action to end poverty, protect the planet, and ensure that by 2030 all people enjoy peace and prosperity." --UN. Of the 17 goals, the SDG 12 goal is to Ensure Sustainable Consumption and Production.
- "An Order of Distinction"An article from the publication Material Culture that includes Evans' Everything I Have.
Encyclopedia of Consumption and Waste by ISBN: 9781412988193"The Encyclopedia of Consumption and Waste explores the topic across multiple disciplines within the social sciences and ranges further to include business, consumerism, environmentalism, and marketing"....--publisher
Green Consumerism: an a-To-Z Guide by ISBN: 9781412973809Publication Date: 2010-05-03Access tip: this resource works best with the Chrome browser. "The multiplicity of topics and disciplinary perspectives provides a useful survey of the nature of green consumerism, the forms it takes, the issues impacting it, and the practices it involves."--publisher
The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Consumption and Consumer StudiesISBN: 9781118989463"Includes over 200 A-Z entries varying in length from 500 to 5,000 words, with a list of suggested readings for each entry and cross-references, as well as a lexicon by category, and a timeline."--publisher
Group C: Ecosystems of the Future
- "Biopolitics in the Anthropocene."This Journal of Popular Culture article features the film Snowpiercer and two others and portrays climate challenges in the future.
- "Keep Your Eye on the Dystopian Ball"Metro magazine explains the future world of Snowpiercer.
- "Utopianism and Bong Joon-Ho’s Snowpiercer"This article in Science Fiction Film & Televsion magazine describes the interpersonal tension in the future world of Snowpiercer.
- Socioeconomic Roots of Climate Change Denial and Uncertainty among the European PopulationThis European Sociological Review article explores why individuals vary in their attitudes toward climate change.
- How Americans’ attitudes about climate change differ by generation, party and other factorsPew Research Center study on Americans' attitudes toward climate change.
- News sources for Threats to Food SecurityClick the News Sources link above to view search results from the library search engine, NUsearch, for resources on factors that pose a threat to food security (e.g. microplastics, plant diseases, soil salinity, insects, more). Use the NUsearch left sidebar to filter by Format (e.g. newspapers) and Subject (shows subcategories for the search results).
Group D: Human Rights and the Environment
- "Science fiction blockbuster movies – A problem or a path to urban greenery?""Here, we evaluate how 44 of the most viewed American SF movies depict nature in cities, including diversity of species and how characters interact with nature.--publisher
- "Indigenous Literatures, Multinaturalism, and Avatar: The Emergence of Indigenous Cosmopolitics"Scholarly article that discusses some of the reactions of indigenous people to the film Avatar. Tip: on the login page linked above, use the Oxford link to log into full text access.
- "The Climate of Ecocinema""The Climate of Ecocinema" is an entry in the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Communication. It addresses how films, including Avatar, portray ecological and human issues. See the end of the resource for an extensive list of links to further resources ("Links to Digital Materials") as well as the Resources list for this entry.
- "Between Green Paradise and Bleak Calamity"Explores the issues in the film Avatar. Access tip: For access once the Sinecine page opens, on the the home page go to Archive, All Issues, and select Vol. 11, issue 2 (2020), article 4, Between Green Paradise.
- "Human Rights and the Environment"This chapter on human rights and the environment is part of a larger work, The Oxford Handbook of Environmental Ethics. Once you are within the chapter homepage (chapter 25) to search within this chapter, use a CTRL + F search instead of the search boxes, which will search outside of the chapter.
- How Human Rights Affect the EnvironmentOn July 28, 2022, the United Nations declared that all humans are entitled to a healthy environment. Though the UN resolution is non-binding, it is expected to carry significant weight and influence social and environmental movements worldwide.
Subject Guide
Tracy Coyne
she/her/hers
Contact:
tracy-coyne@northwestern.edu
339 E. Chicago Ave., 2nd Floor
Chicago, IL 60611
339 E. Chicago Ave., 2nd Floor
Chicago, IL 60611
Office phone (312) 503-6617