Research Guides: Textual Catastrophe: Resources

Databases

Overview

This guide offers a list of primary and secondary source databases to aid in finding documents for use in completing course assignments.

Find Primary Sources

You will use the library catalog (NUsearch) and the following databases to locate and viewing historical primary texts.

America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
"Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera enable researchers to explore America's distant and not so distant past"--Archive of Americana, collections.
ACCESS RESTRICTED to Northwestern University faculty, staff, and students of the Evanston and Chicago campuses except for use by a category of staff who have been advised of the unavailability of the resources to them. No interlibrary loan allowed. Visiting scholars are permitted use under the following terms: The definition of an Authorized User under this Agreement can be expanded to include visiting scholars while at the Licensed Site for business purposes with the Licensee, provided that in no case use by visiting scholars is done in a manner or magnitude as to act as a replacement for the visiting scholar's or visiting scholar's institution's own subscription to either the Products or the purchase of other NewsBank products. lf NewsBank reasonably determines that use by visiting scholars hereunder may be impairing NewsBank's ability to make sales of the Product or other NewsBank products to other customers, NewsBank may require such use by visiting scholars to be modified or terminated, either entirely or with respect to the visiting scholar(s) whose activity is impairing NewsBank's business.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
For searching and browsing American newspapers published in three centuries, America's Historical Newspapers is the most comprehensive online resource available. Continually expanding, it offers searchable digital facsimiles of thousands of titles from all 50 states. With eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries and much more, this acclaimed collection uniquely chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to the recent past.
ACCESS RESTRICTED to Northwestern University faculty, staff, and students of the Evanston and Chicago campuses except for use by a category of staff who have been advised of the unavailability of the resources to them. No interlibrary loan allowed. Visiting scholars are permitted use under the following terms: The definition of an Authorized User under this Agreement can be expanded to include visiting scholars while at the Licensed Site for business purposes with the Licensee, provided that in no case use by visiting scholars is done in a manner or magnitude as to act as a replacement for the visiting scholar's or visiting scholar's institution's own subscription to either the Products or the purchase of other NewsBank products. lf NewsBank reasonably determines that use by visiting scholars hereunder may be impairing NewsBank's ability to make sales of the Product or other NewsBank products to other customers, NewsBank may require such use by visiting scholars to be modified or terminated, either entirely or with respect to the visiting scholar(s) whose activity is impairing NewsBank's business.
Early American Imprints, Series I (1639-1800) This link opens in a new window
Based on the renowned American bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristols Supplement to Evans American bibliography, this database, which provides full text, is a foundation for research on every aspect of 17th and 18th century American life
Early American Imprints, Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 This link opens in a new window
Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, this database provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century (1801-1819).
Eighteenth Century Collection Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text searchable facsimile page displays of approximately 150,000 books published in Britain and its colonies during the 18th century. Most of these titles are also represented in NUcat by individual records.
NUsearch This link opens in a new window
NUsearch is the main search tool for Northwestern University Library, combining the library catalog with a wealth of other databases and online collections.

Find Secondary Sources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Combining the content of Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts, this comprehensive resource offers content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields. Coverage goes back to 1915.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature integrates Gale literary databases so you can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Databases include the Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Something About the Author Online.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
An extensive compilation of literary commentary available representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras, and genre.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Compiled by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography lists articles and books in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics in the modern languages, as well as folklore, film studies, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and historical aspects of printing and publishing.
NUsearch This link opens in a new window
NUsearch is the main search tool for Northwestern University Library, combining the library catalog with a wealth of other databases and online collections.

Libraries | Research Guides

Textual Catastrophe

Contact

Databases

Find Secondary Sources